Peanut Butter Stuffed Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Made these again for a Super Bowl Party. This time, I propped them up in a glass dish by making a wall out of aluminum foil, so the peanut butter stayed in better. Then I put them under the broiler for a few minutes to get the peanut butter crusty before lying them down in the dish to roast at 375. They're still great. First, I have to say that the entire office was skeptical of these. Some wouldn't try them when I made a few dozen of them. Those who did unilaterally were pleasantly surprised at how 'not awful' the results were. This is a terrific alternative to cheese-stuffed peppers and should be tried before judged. Super Bowl Sunday seems like a good time to experiment. Also, try sticking them, uncovered, under the broiler. I did them both ways and preferred those done under the broiler to those roasted in foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
LOL...okay...I admit..I looked at this recipe and was like..no way...but I made them and they are actually really good. The peanut butter takes on some of the taste and heat from the peppers. It reminds me of the peanut sauce you make for chicken saytay. Try it...different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureIce23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Little Ferry, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I couldn't bring myself to try it, but my guest who loves peppers ate them all. They were kind of messy to make, next time I'll put the peanut butter in a small zip lock and cut a small corner off and squeeze it into the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYRAY1
Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Consider and try this addition: Wrap each peanut butter filled pepper half with a half slice of bacon ..tip for the bacon getting crisp is I precook just slightly, where its not done, but still limber! I promise, you have to try it to believe the taste! I prefer the chunky PB, also and cooking under broiler as one review suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I just had to make these--so good! Then I thought why not put some chocolate in with the peanutbutter. Used a Hershey Bar cut in little peices. Baked for 30 minutes and then salted with sea salt. That really hit the spot with me and my husband. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I made these for a party and they were a huge hit! I was a bit nervous heading in as it is such a unique combination. I am so glad I took the chance because not only did they make a great ice breaker, but they were a huge success! In fact, we are making them for another (much larger) party at my husbands bosses house next weekend. One quick note about the heat. I made about 20 peppers, and some were really hot, some were milder. The smaller ones seems to have the most kick! So, if you don't like the heat, my advice is to get the bigger peppers and make sure you scoop the seeds out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was expecting a surprising flavor here, but it ended up just tasting like warm peanut butter held in a tasteless jalapeno shell. Roasting made the peppers wilty, and the flavor and spunk just weren't there. Needs more spicing, ingredients, or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Really great if you like peanut butter, which I do! My sister's face was priceless when I served them, but she ended up enjoying them as much as I did. I roasted them in the foil, then threw them under the broiler for a couple of minutes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My DH loves poppers, so i decided to surprise him. I didn't want to do all PB; so i did some colby jack and cream cheese too. He loved the PB. Reminded him of peanut thai. I will make these again. I used chunky PB, it was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Our preferred way to make these is NOT to cook them- just use a fresh jalapeno, mindful to remove seeds and membranes. Reminiscent of more-traditional stuffed celery, but with some real FIRE! Not for the faint of heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States