Peanut Butter Shoestring Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I used chow mein noodles for the shoestring potatoes and cocoa butter for the canola oil. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Fast, tasty, and fun to make with the kids. There are so many possible add-ins and variations you'll never get bored. Quick and easy with little clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
The recipe tastes great, but didnt resemble haystacks. Next time I make them I plan on increasing the amount of potato sticks to soak up/bind with the peanutbutter/chocolate mixture so the cookies will look like haystacks. Also I keep mine in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This makes for an easy and good cookie, but I prefer to used canned chow mein noodles instead of the shoestring potatoes. The shoestring potatoes are much more salty and greasy. The chow mein noodles add the right crunch and taste better with the chips and peanut butter. Also try adding peanuts or other nuts to them. I also don't add the oil. It just isn't necessary. The chips melt fine and the peanut butter adds plenty of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Being an anti-baker, I chose this recipe for our Christmas cookie exchange. A little on the messy side to make and clean-up. Tastes just like a Reeses cup with crunch. I also used the whole 7oz can of shoestring potatoes. For presentation purposes, I used the "truffle" paper cups to serve. They melt fast, so you don't want to handle them alot. Kids loved to help stir the chocolates together on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
These are so salty they are not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
It tasted great but didn't look like hay stacks mine looked more like cow patties so i put it in a buttered pan and cut it like fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
This recipe uses the shoestring potato sticks (I used an entire 7oz can) that are found in the potato chip aisle of your local grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
I wanted to run out and buy ingredients immediately, but I was confused on the potatoes. Are we talking about canned shoestring potato snacks, or frozen shoestring cut french fries? The description shown when I added this to my Shopping List didn't help either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
kind of potato? i haven't made these yet, but i'm certain the recipe means for you to use the crunchy snack shoestring potato sticks, that you find near the potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States