Peanut Butter Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This is delicious. Just as moist and rich as the original chocolate version. I did make one modification, I used two sticks of butter rather than part butter part oil. If you have never made a Texas Sheet cake, do not be scared by the consistency of the batter, it WILL bake up correctly. Be sure and use the 10x15 pan, it's supposed to be flat. I didn't have the ingredients for the icing in this recipe so I used this one. Bring 1 stick butter, 1/2 cup peanut butter, and 6 tb milk to a boil in a large saucepan. Add 1 tsp vanilla. Mix in 1 box (3 3/4 cups) powdered sugar. Mix well, beating with handheld electric mixer for smoothest consistency. Frost cake while frosting is hot and cake is warm. Finally, I drizzled lines of warmed hot fudge topping over the icing. Once the hot fudge cools it firms up so don't substitute with chocolate syrup. For me, the chocolate adds a lot somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Really good! I made this for work and it was well received. I made it as written except that I doubled the icing. Because so many reviewers commented that the peanut butter flavor was somewhat subtle, a couple even saying the cake was bland, I was a bit concerned that it wouldn't be peanut buttery enough for my taste, but it was. I did add just a sprinkle of salt to the icing to draw out the flavor a bit, as I used unsalted butter. I will definitely make this again as a simple way to satisfy a PB cake craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This cake is wonderful!!! Rich and moist and flavorful! I used two sticks of margarine instead of butter and oil and baked it in a 9x12 pan - came out LOVELY! Great with fudge frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Since peanut butter cakes can be dry, I was encouraged to see that this recipe apparently took that into consideration by including a little oil. But it disappoints. The cake is a little on the oily side, has a dense crumb and doesn't pack the peanut butter flavor I hoped for. The frosting recipe didn't appeal to me, so I made my own peanut butter buttercream frosting. The cake might be improved by reducing the amount of oil a little and replacing it with the same amount of peanut butter, and by using brown sugar rather than white. I'll still keep looking for the school cafeteria peanut butter sheet cake I remember from my school days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
PB sheet cake makes it to nearly every family function on my hubby's side. I am pregnant with a craving and there's no family event in sight. So, I made my first ever pb sheet cake. The frosting is amazing. It makes the cake. Upon first bite, I was slightly disappointed as the cake does seem a bit bland (though o-so-moist!). My tastebuds caught up and the frosting took over. I think if the cake were any sweeter or any more peanut buttery, I'd be in a peanut butter coma. Both textures of cake and frosting are perfect. I did use all butter instead of butter and oil, and I doubled the icing. Everything else was the same. Great stuff! ETA: It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This cake is pure heaven for the die hard peanut butter lover and is "oh, so good" served with a tall glass of milk. I've been making this cake for a long time and I have to admit that I've never been able to get consistent results. My biggest problem is with it falling in the center. The other inconsistency I have is that the texture can be oily (sometimes more than others). What I've learned is this: 1) You can't over bake it. It's a moist, moist cake! 2) Regardless of how it turns out, peanut butter lovers LOVE it! I've never had to toss one out because people refused to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Turned out GREAT (used a buttercream frosting that I added peanut butter to)- good peanut butter flavor. I was afraid it would be oily like previous reviewers but it wasn't. I did add about a 1/4 c. more peanut butter and cut oil to 1/8 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This is a great cake. If you love peanut butter this one is perfect. I made it for work and it was gone by lunch and I made another one the same night because it is an easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Everyone has to try this cake. This is one of the best cake receipes I have ever made. I agree that the peanut butter is not overwhelming. I didn't have marshmallows in my cupboard but I did have marshmallow cream and used it instead. Wonderful result. The cake has the taste of mild peanut butter fudge but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisa, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Great recipe! Perfect for a peanut butter lover. I would recommend using chunky peanut butter in the glaze and putting that on while the cake is still warm to enable easier spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States