Peanut Butter Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
It's so moist and goes a long way! Will make it again for sure! It is a MUST try for peanut butter lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
The cake and frosting were a nice consistency, and it looked great, but the flavor was too bland for us. I'll use the frosting/glaze recipe again, on a chocolate cake or brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I changed this recipe a bit - thought it had too much sugar and with the butter and peanut butter in it, I omitted the oil. I used only 1/2 cup butter in the frosting. My kids loved it! It is a nice relief from chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe. No one could leave it alone. I plan to take it to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
My young critic called this cake "aweseome" so that should tell you how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Since I love the taste of chocolate and peanut butter I decided to make my traditional Texas sheet cake minus the cinnamon but use this icing~delecious! I used marshmellow fluff...1/3 cup...instead of mini marshmellows and plain peanut butter. Much better combo then the sickening sweet icing I usually use. Thanks~I may try the cake recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
The cake was easy to make and very moist. However, it was also very bland. I would use the cake recipe but finish it like a tandy cake recipe using a peanut butter layer followed by a chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Very moist with a fudge like topping. Keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Buchler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
I made this cake for family, then took the rest to work. Everyone raved about it. I used crunchy, honey-roasted peanut butter in the cake batter, and regular peanut butter for the icing. Yes, the flavor is delicate, not like a stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth peanut butter sandwich. It is very moist. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This is delicious. Just as moist and rich as the original chocolate version. I did make one modification, I used two sticks of butter rather than part butter part oil. If you have never made a Texas Sheet cake, do not be scared by the consistency of the batter, it WILL bake up correctly. Be sure and use the 10x15 pan, it's supposed to be flat. I didn't have the ingredients for the icing in this recipe so I used this one. Bring 1 stick butter, 1/2 cup peanut butter, and 6 tb milk to a boil in a large saucepan. Add 1 tsp vanilla. Mix in 1 box (3 3/4 cups) powdered sugar. Mix well, beating with handheld electric mixer for smoothest consistency. Frost cake while frosting is hot and cake is warm. Finally, I drizzled lines of warmed hot fudge topping over the icing. Once the hot fudge cools it firms up so don't substitute with chocolate syrup. For me, the chocolate adds a lot somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States