Peanut Butter Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Wow! I just finished a piece of heaven! I made some modifications that worked well. I used cake flour(Don't forget to add about an eighth of a cup extra)instead of all purpose. I also added about a half cup of mixed white, butterscotch,and semisweet chips in the saucepan with the peanut butter. It didn't need frosting. I served it with a dollop of real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This cake was dense, moist, and had the right amount of peanut butter flavor. I made it in 3 9" round cake pans to make a birthday cake. I sealed the cake with vanilla buttercream icing, and when that was dry I piped on chocolate whipped cream frosting. Everyone loved it! (To make the chocolate whipped cream; 1 cup heavy cream, 1.5 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa, 2 tablespoons sugar. Put all ingredients in a bowl, mix the ingredients together with a fork, then put in the freezer for a half hour, take out and whip until stiff peaks form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe and brought it to a party. Very moist. It was a hit!! I doubled the recipe to make a bigger sheet cake. That cake was devoured within an hour. I didn't use frosting recipe. I use a stick of butter, 1 cp PB, 1 block of cream cheese, 1/4cp of milk and 1/4cp flour. Blend until smooth. Everyone loved it. Even the picky eaters enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This cake was awesome! Everyone loved it. I put a simple peanut butter icing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Oh, my! This is SO good! My 8-year-old daughter made this herself and won a third-place ribbon in a Girl Scout bake-off. The first and second place winners were both chocolate cakes. People could not quit raving about how moist this cake is. We used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and baked in two round cake pans. We also used a slightly different variation on the icing - similar ingredients only you boil for a finished product that tastes just like peanut butter fudge! If you can, make this a day or two in advance. It's one cake that truly tastes better the longer it sits! Now back to the kitchen for that last piece...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Oh boy was this good...I had to use chocolate frosting because I ran out of peanut butter! Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Really good! I made this for work and it was well received. I made it as written except that I doubled the icing. Because so many reviewers commented that the peanut butter flavor was somewhat subtle, a couple even saying the cake was bland, I was a bit concerned that it wouldn't be peanut buttery enough for my taste, but it was. I did add just a sprinkle of salt to the icing to draw out the flavor a bit, as I used unsalted butter. I will definitely make this again as a simple way to satisfy a PB cake craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALENZANO
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this for my daughters 6th birthday. See pic. It was a huge success. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Reminded me of Reese Pieces candy on the first bite. It is a tasty dessert and large enough to feed a crowd. (If you're not cooking for a crowd you should consider freezing portions of it so you can take out just enough at a time to curb your peanut butter craving.) The baking time for me was about 30-35 minutes, although I used a stone sheet so it could have been a factor. Other than that, the recipe resulted in a perfectly prepared cake so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I thought this was okay, but my husband wouldn't shut-up about it so I had to give it five stars. Very moist and a very mild flavor. I would like to try this with different frostings, too. Very easy to make. Obviously I'm making this again since this is my hubby's new favorite cake:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States