Peanut Butter Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Oh, my! This is SO good! My 8-year-old daughter made this herself and won a third-place ribbon in a Girl Scout bake-off. The first and second place winners were both chocolate cakes. People could not quit raving about how moist this cake is. We used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and baked in two round cake pans. We also used a slightly different variation on the icing - similar ingredients only you boil for a finished product that tastes just like peanut butter fudge! If you can, make this a day or two in advance. It's one cake that truly tastes better the longer it sits! Now back to the kitchen for that last piece...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Oh boy was this good...I had to use chocolate frosting because I ran out of peanut butter! Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Really good! I made this for work and it was well received. I made it as written except that I doubled the icing. Because so many reviewers commented that the peanut butter flavor was somewhat subtle, a couple even saying the cake was bland, I was a bit concerned that it wouldn't be peanut buttery enough for my taste, but it was. I did add just a sprinkle of salt to the icing to draw out the flavor a bit, as I used unsalted butter. I will definitely make this again as a simple way to satisfy a PB cake craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALENZANO
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this for my daughters 6th birthday. See pic. It was a huge success. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Reminded me of Reese Pieces candy on the first bite. It is a tasty dessert and large enough to feed a crowd. (If you're not cooking for a crowd you should consider freezing portions of it so you can take out just enough at a time to curb your peanut butter craving.) The baking time for me was about 30-35 minutes, although I used a stone sheet so it could have been a factor. Other than that, the recipe resulted in a perfectly prepared cake so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I thought this was okay, but my husband wouldn't shut-up about it so I had to give it five stars. Very moist and a very mild flavor. I would like to try this with different frostings, too. Very easy to make. Obviously I'm making this again since this is my hubby's new favorite cake:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I made this a layer cake. I used heart shaped pans, and it turned out great! Followed recipe exactly except used cake flour. Frosted with Rich chocolate frosting from this site. May add just a tad more peanut butter next time. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great cake! Doubled the icing. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This cake is wonderful!!! Rich and moist and flavorful! I used two sticks of margarine instead of butter and oil and baked it in a 9x12 pan - came out LOVELY! Great with fudge frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
We love this cake. I doubled the icing, however. In place of mini-marshmallows I used 5 large ones (10 if you double it). Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States