Peanut Butter Sandwich Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was ok as per recipe but was even better with the suggestion of one reviewer who used half cup milk and half cup sour cream. I used low fat milk, low fat sour cream, sub white sugar for brown sugar and added a tsp of vanilla. The result was a dense, moist and deeeeelicious bread. Ty for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Like a cookie/bread. Took advice from other member by substituting 1/2 cup of milk for 1/2 cup of sour cream. Yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Its was a big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I am a huge peanut butter fanatic and this bread makes the best peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I've ever tasted. The kids have asked for it every day. I did follow another reveiwer and up the peanut butter to 1 cup and I added a tsp of vanilla. And I've never owned a pastry blender, so I did the old fashioned trick of cutting through it with 2 knives. My mom made this and the first time it didn't turn out well, but she simply stirred the peanut butter into the flour mixture, the second time she used the knife method and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Nice recipe, but I'm giving it four stars cause of the changes I made. I read that some found the peanut butter taste was bland on its own and one said the bread was dry and crumbly. I made the following changes to the recipe and it came out nice and moist with a peanut butter taste that makes it good to have on it's own. I used 1 heaping cup of peanut butter, used 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1 cup and used the other half in sour cream and added a teaspoon of vanilla. It resulted in a tasty, moist bread. Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KENDRA_07
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe definitely smells good while in the oven, but I won't be making it again. You can barely taste the peanut butter in it, and it is very crumbly and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This is definately a bread that's based on personal preference. I took a bite of mine, and asked my fiance if he wanted the rest. I can't put my finger on what was wrong, but I just didn't like it. he thought it was really good. So worth a shot to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is very dry and the peanut butter flavour is fairly mild. It almost NEEDS something on top to moisten it which is not what I look for in a dessert loaf. Bakes up fine, it's easy, but is very heavy (dense). Not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
At first I could barely taste the peanut butter. By the second day I couldn't taste it at all! I ended up throwing it out. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This bread is sooo cool. Just top it off with Jam and you have a less sticky and very yummy pb & j sandwich. I used light crunchy peanut butter and it is really good. My husband thought it was really good too. next time I might try it with bananas and have peanut butter and banana sandwich loaf. Thanks! Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States