Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is just a "4" for me....really good, but not knock-my-socks off fabulous. I think what takes them from a "5" to a "4" for me is the sickeningly sweet filling. (And, believe me, I read reviews all the time that say "way too sweet" and I think...duh, it's a cooking/cake/candy, but this is sweeeeet) The cookies themselves are very good and they look nice as sandwiches. I'll prob make again for the holidays (and I think I'll use a choc filling of some sort), but not before. If you make these, the dough is a firm dough; it's very easy to work w/and is not sticky. Thanks for a nice change from the "usual" cookies! UPDATE: so, I've changed my original "4" to a "5" and here's why...I made the mistake of eating the filling right from the bowl (really really sweet) and then trying a cookie shortly after w/the sweet taste still on my mind. I ate a cookie the next day and it was AWESOME. Still soft and the filling was a nice compliment, not too sweet w/only a small amount in the middle. I stand corrected and I WILL make these again! UPDATE #2: I just doubled & it made me 85 sandwich cookies (and a very full & floury Kitchenaid). I haven't filled them yet, but I plan to keep the filing measurements from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I've tried a few PB cookie recipes, and this is the best one by far, both in flavor and in texture. To do the sandwiches, I put a dollop of the frosting in center of one cooled cookie without spreading it to the edges. The force of pushing the second cookie on top spread the filling perfectly without it oozing over the side and making a mess. I set the cookies out on wax paper for a couple hours so the filling could harden, and the filling stiffened up just enough to hold together without becoming "hard". They are just as moist and delicious on day 4 as they were on day 1. Make sure to store with bread slices to keep them soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was excellent. This was very sweet. The only thing I dd that may be helpful to others is unstead of spreading the icing on the cookies I put the icing in a large ziploc bag and cut the tip off and just squeezed it on the cookie (less mess). These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I had made other PB cookies from this site (the ones from the cake mix) which were great, and husband requested a PB filling. However, I THOUGHT 3 cups of confectioners sugar seemed like wayyyyyyyyyyyyyy too much- I used 1/2 cup PB, the vanilla, 2 TB milk, and 1/2 cup of the sugar. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Wow..these are VERY sweet but very good. My husband has a huge sweet tooth, so he loved them. I made just a few adjustments. I used butter instead of shortening (I didn't have any shortening) and I used half creamy, half chunky peanut butter for the cookies themselves. I did have to add some milk to the frosting to make it more spreadable. I learned after the first batch that I was making the cookie balls way too big. They spread out a lot (but that probably has everything to do with using butter instead of shortening). I made them a lot smaller because a giant cookie with that much sweetness could be a little much. Either way, it's a good change from the normal old peanut butter cookies. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is the ULTIMATE peanut butter cookie recipe!!! Perfectly chewy cookies (I chopped up 1/2 cup dry roasted peanuts and added to the cookies) and delicious creamy filling that complimented each other nicely. I used a small ice cream scooper (almost full) to keep all the cookie sizes uniform. I have no need for any other pb cookie recipe since I found this one - cream filling or not. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Yummy!! My husband LOVES these and he took them to work and everyone was raving!!! Will be a family favorite in no time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I just got through making these. It's true, they are addicting... I had to use crunchy peanut butter because that's all I had - but fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These cookies are peanut butter heaven! My PB loving hubby almost melted on the floor when he tasted these. I followed the recipe exactly, only difference was I baked my cookies on parchment paper. If you love PB like we do, make these! You won't be disappointed! Thanks for a winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
moist, peanuty taste, easy enough to have a 12-year old make them, which she did with my help. next time, i'll add more pb to the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States