Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
better than i expected! they taste just like a soft nutter butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Calloway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is the best peanut butter cookie recipe I've ever tried. When you bring them somewhere, bring copies of the recipe to hand out because they'll want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
They were okay. I didnt like them but the kids ate them up and said that they were good. I actually made these by mistake, i usually make the Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III from this site, which are similar sandwich cookies with filling and they are way better. So if you looking for a wonderful delicious nutter butter like peanut butter cookie try those instead, they are a definate 5 star cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Have made the recipe several times, including using butter instead of shortening. Seems like the results are not always consistant. I always have to add more milk to the frosting, to be able to spread it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very good cookie. Very soft and tender along with a decent peanutty flavor. I used butter instead of butter flavored shortening, since that's all I had on hand but that's the only alteration that I made. I started out using a cookie scoop to make my dough balls then after baking I decided to use the same cookie scoop only divide the scoop into two balls. I think these worked out well in relationship with the sweet center filling. I even took two cookies (without the creme filling) and added a bit of peanut butter and a small amount of jelly to make a different take on the cookie and they tasted pretty good too! Thanks for this recipe, it will definitely be something that will end up on my Christmas Cookie List this year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I love this recipe. I didn't think that there was any way to make peanut butter cookies better, but this was it. If you are looking to make the recipe a little healthier you can make the cookies using both the splenda brown sugar and the splenda sugar. It kind of defeats the purpose when you have to use the confectioners sugar for the cream filling, but its still worth a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raquiem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I didn't like these cookies at all. They were very dry, even fresh from the oven. They weren't even quite brown around the edges yet. However, the filling was very nice, with only 2 1/4 cups of confectioners sugar after you let it set for an hour or so, covered with plastic wrap. Next time, I will stick with the recipe on the back of the Jif Jar and top with a dollop of the "filling"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed making these cookies. They took a little longer to bake than I think was intended, but that was probably because I was using a baking stone instead of a cookie sheet. I would recommend not using so much confectioner's sugar in the frosting, as it came out really, really sweet. Maybe 2 1/2 cups or so. But this is really a fantastic cookie! I was told they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was excellent. This was very sweet. The only thing I dd that may be helpful to others is unstead of spreading the icing on the cookies I put the icing in a large ziploc bag and cut the tip off and just squeezed it on the cookie (less mess). These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made these to take on a camping trip and while everyone liked them, most people thought they were too sweet. everyone thought they tasted similiar to Nutter Butters. I will try making again using less sugar in the cookie itself. Also, the recipe for the filling makes way more than is needed, thus a lot of it was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States