Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I love this recipe. I didn't think that there was any way to make peanut butter cookies better, but this was it. If you are looking to make the recipe a little healthier you can make the cookies using both the splenda brown sugar and the splenda sugar. It kind of defeats the purpose when you have to use the confectioners sugar for the cream filling, but its still worth a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raquiem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I didn't like these cookies at all. They were very dry, even fresh from the oven. They weren't even quite brown around the edges yet. However, the filling was very nice, with only 2 1/4 cups of confectioners sugar after you let it set for an hour or so, covered with plastic wrap. Next time, I will stick with the recipe on the back of the Jif Jar and top with a dollop of the "filling"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuna, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed making these cookies. They took a little longer to bake than I think was intended, but that was probably because I was using a baking stone instead of a cookie sheet. I would recommend not using so much confectioner's sugar in the frosting, as it came out really, really sweet. Maybe 2 1/2 cups or so. But this is really a fantastic cookie! I was told they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was excellent. This was very sweet. The only thing I dd that may be helpful to others is unstead of spreading the icing on the cookies I put the icing in a large ziploc bag and cut the tip off and just squeezed it on the cookie (less mess). These were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made these to take on a camping trip and while everyone liked them, most people thought they were too sweet. everyone thought they tasted similiar to Nutter Butters. I will try making again using less sugar in the cookie itself. Also, the recipe for the filling makes way more than is needed, thus a lot of it was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
REALLY CONFUSED! I've just decided to start baking and thought this recipe looked easy enough... it was a disaster! I don't know what I did wrong. The batter was too sticky to shape into anything and would just stick to the fork when I would try to flatten it... the cookies came out big a fluffy like shortbread... and didn't taste much like peanut butter. I don't know what I did wrong. I used an electric mixer, but perhaps for too long? Should I have stirred it all by hand? HELP! Please leave suggestions! I would like to try to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
The description is dead on. I substituted the shortening for the butter and cooked for 7 minutes. They ended up very chewy. These disappeared very quickly and will be made again very soon! Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This is a household favorite! I did not change a single thing and they turned out great! I would suggest cooking the cookies for little bit longer if you like a crunch with the creamy filling. They are great right out of the oven as well as days later. Thank you for this great recipe...I love making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigAspirations

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Almost too sweet. But easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is just a "4" for me....really good, but not knock-my-socks off fabulous. I think what takes them from a "5" to a "4" for me is the sickeningly sweet filling. (And, believe me, I read reviews all the time that say "way too sweet" and I think...duh, it's a cooking/cake/candy, but this is sweeeeet) The cookies themselves are very good and they look nice as sandwiches. I'll prob make again for the holidays (and I think I'll use a choc filling of some sort), but not before. If you make these, the dough is a firm dough; it's very easy to work w/and is not sticky. Thanks for a nice change from the "usual" cookies! UPDATE: so, I've changed my original "4" to a "5" and here's why...I made the mistake of eating the filling right from the bowl (really really sweet) and then trying a cookie shortly after w/the sweet taste still on my mind. I ate a cookie the next day and it was AWESOME. Still soft and the filling was a nice compliment, not too sweet w/only a small amount in the middle. I stand corrected and I WILL make these again! UPDATE #2: I just doubled & it made me 85 sandwich cookies (and a very full & floury Kitchenaid). I haven't filled them yet, but I plan to keep the filing measurements from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States