Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is one of those recipes from my mother's childhood that was never written down. A few modifications - forget measurements! Start with only HALF of a small boiled potato (peeled and mashed), add a lid of vanilla and mix. Then add 3 large spoons of powdered sugar and mix up a little, let set for a few minutes. When you come back, the sugar and potato mix begins to melt! Keep adding and mixing in powdered sugar until you get a pie dough consistency. This takes a lot of powdered sugar and mixing - it's a great arm workout. Once pie dough consistency is met, sprinkle powdered sugar on a clean dry surface, rub on hands and then roll out the dough to about a 1/4" thick. Then use CRUNCHY peanut butter spread over the surface. Roll up the dough, cut into 3 sections. For each section, roll it out until less than 1.5" in diameter. Do so for each segment (or wrap and store in fridge for later) then cut into bite size slices. Store in fridge. The crunchy peanut butter adds texture and keeps the entire thing from being too runny or so sweet. Some people even add shredded coconut. I wonder what adding dark chocolate shavings would do...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love this recipe. Yeah, sometimes you have to add way more sugar then you thought or sometimes way less. It always turns out to be a favorite at a party though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I've never eatin this candy, but my husband has been asking me to make it because his grandmother used to make it for him. I only used 1 tablespoon of milk and that was the perfect consistency. Next time I won't use the vanilla and go ahead and use the other tablespoon of milk to even it back out. It would've been ok, but the vanilla was too powerful for us. Nothing a few little changes can't fix though! Defiantly be sure to have enough sugar around to put on the parchment paper or wax paper whichever you use to keep it from sticking. I also chilled mine in the freezer for about 10 minutes each time it said to refrigerate to speed the process up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My aunt use to make me a large can of this when I was a little boy. Hoping I can get my wife to make it for me ! Miss her and her candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blairs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I must be stuck on stupid today. My daughter came home from school today and told me she needed a cultural dish for her class potluck, TOMORROW. I panicked at first but my Dad suggested I make potato candy like my grandmother used to make when I was little. A little online research brought me to this recipe and the reviews that raved about how easy it was. Well here it is ten o'clock at night and I have watery sugary potato soup. I followed the directions to the letter and somehow ended up with nothing even close to being able to be served to my daughters class. Guess it is time to head to the grocery store and find something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I'm not sure what happened, but this mixture didn't come close to a dough - it was very soupy although, I checked 10 x's over to be sure I followed the directions exactly. I used to make this also as a child with my grandmother and never had such a soupy mix. I thought that 1/4 cup of mashed potatoes was very little - I remember using at least one potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I will be making this again very soon. The ingredients were simple and I have them on hand at all times, and the candy turned out delicious. I did use a lot more peanut butter, because I LOVE the stuff and wanted a really thick layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I couldn't believe how easy this candy was! Make sure to add enough powdered sugar to get the potato portion to a dough that is easy to roll, and not too sticky- I think I added a little more than 16oz. And use more than 1/3 a cup of peanut butter. I probably spread on a full cup (I LOVE peanut butter and wanted a thick layer but I would say 2/3 a cup would be the perfect amount). I actually rolled the outside with dark chocolate shavings before I sliced it and it turned out really good and made it look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My little nephew loved this candy and I loved the taste and the fact that it was super easy to make. I took the advice of another reviewer and made this with natural peanut butter, which was perfect with the sweet powdered sugar/potato layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yummy! (and super easy!) This candy is very sweet so I decided to use natural peanut butter. The natural peanut butter with the potato/sugar layer complemented each other perfectly! Do what other reviewers mention and increase the peanut butter (I probably used double the suggested amount.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States