Peanut Butter Playdough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
made this for my little brother he absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
love it! my daughter always brings it with her to baby sit. Perfect activity! if you dont have honey available just use corn syrup. it makes alot so do a half batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I remember (back in the day when peanut butter was allowed in schools) getting into trouble because I was always eating this play dough instead of making things with it!! Awwwe the good ole days of pre-school!! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I can't wait to make some for my kids!! Hope I don't eat it all on them before they get to play with it!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe! I have my neice and nephew in town for a couple of days. Since the recipe made 15 pieces I used the (calculate button) and typed in 2 one for each of them. I don't see the point in making any more servings than children playing with it. One large ball each for them was enough, and why waste the ingredients. I subbed corn syrup for the honey because it is more economical. I used Skippy creamy natural peanut butter, that has vegetable oil instead of shortening. I think now it was a good choice, as some people said their dough was too greasy. I think this is more about playing with it than eating it anyway, but neat they have the option to taste it. I think they would have a tummy ache if they ate all of that dough. So, I am not sure why some people complained of the taste. Either way, they are having a great time playing with this. I gave them a tiny wooden roller, some minature cookie cutters, and I also luckily have a plastic covered table cloth. They thought this was neat, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Really, really, really sweet. The consistancy was okay...but I was a little concerned about the huge amount of sugar. I can think of better playdough recipes (less sticky and more colourful) and healthier snacks. It was okay and I think that older kids would have fun helping mix the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe, although I cut back on the milk and honey, it is not necessary to take it out. And if you are having a problem with a honey flavor, you are probably using a dark, or strong flavored honey. Buying a local, raw, light colored honey will not only help your playdough taste delicious, but it has the added bonus of helping ward off local allergins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite Falls, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My children and I made this tonight! We thought it would be a fun project and snack too! I found that I had to use a lot more powered milk than was called for because it was very sticky! We made enough for 5 servings, which was enough for twp children to have a lot to play with (too much to eat). After they were done making shapes we cut up pieces of bananas and wrapped the dough around it …. Talk about tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Coventry, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Omit the confectioner's sugar. It's an old recipe. We made it with equal parts of peanut butter, non instant powdered milk and used maple syrup or honey to make it pliable. Kids love to mix it up. For non instant powdered milk, use a blender. Pour in the instant powdered milk, knock the air out of it, pour that into a measuring cup, continue.. When you have as much as the jar of chunky peanut butter you used (8 oz peanut butter plus 8 oz non instant powdered milk), that's it! Mix them together! Or, go to the health food store and buy non instant powdered milk, it's still used in a lot of recipes. I would make it into balls, put melted choco chips into bottom of a small cupcake paper, place the ball into it, then dribble more chocolate on top. Also placed a walnut on top for decoration. It's better to make cornstarch playdough for the kids, and teach them this is candy, to eat sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My kids LOVE this. I use Trader Joe's organic peanut butter and organic honey. HOURS of fun. Great for group playdates or rainy days stuck at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I love this treat-have had it since I was a little kid. Thanks for putting this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States