Peanut Butter Pie XIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Wow! I served this at a group and everyone loved this! Not too sweet, not too peanut buttery, not too runny, but a smooth pudding-like texture. Changes I made: I used 3/4 cup of flour. Also, I spooned the custard into a prepackaged Oreo crust that I brushed with beaten egg white and pre-baked in a 350 degree oven for 5 minutes. After reading reviews, I was worried that the custard wouldn't thicken, so what I did was added the sugar and flour to the milk/egg mixture only after a minute or two of cooking this on MEDIUM-LOW heat. I then brought the heat up to medium for about a minute and then brought it up to medium-high for another minute or two just to get the mixture to warm up. As soon as it was warm (and before it was simmering or the eggs had a chance to cook), I turned the heat back down to medium-low and continued to cook it. This whole process took about 10 minutes for it to thicken to a custard before I added the peanut butter and vanilla. It's important to remember to stir continuously throughout the cooking. I topped this with homemade sweetened whipped cream, a dusting of cocoa powder, and a few pieces of chocolate that I had melted into shapes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Add more peanut butter, takes a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Good creamy pie....the only thing I would do is add another 1/4 cup of sugar. Not quite the sweetness levell needed...the pie was very peanut buttery, but needed a bit more sugar. I don't like those that eat sweets then complain it's too sweet. It needs to TASTE right. Overall, good recipe that needs a minor adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is just what I was looking for! A traditional peanut butter "custard" pie. My picky teenager requested a second pie, lol.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Not a great recipe. I had to add more flour and more peanut butter. Didn't set after an hour so I had to bake at 350 for 30 minutes and it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
this recipe is amazing ! i absolutely loved this pie i was surprised at how quick it thickened, i read the other reviews that said it was time consuming but it thickened in about 10 minutes or less but i also didnt realize i was supposed to boil the milk eggs and salt first then add things in, i added it all together and heated it up and it worked amazing, i also used 1/3 of flour instead of only 1/4 recipe was awesome ! thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I love this recipe and so did my brother, the ultimate peanut butter pie fan! Easy to make! Next time, though, I will probably add just a little more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
this is an awesome pie i lost my recipe a long time ago and this is the same . ive also added a few chocolate chips to garnish after cooled thanks havnt had this in years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This pie recipe is my absolute favorite! I made it last night because I have been wanting some for a while and the only place I know of to get a slice like this is an hour away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I love this recipe... It is a little time consuming, but is very simple and tastes GREAT... The last one I made I substituted Splenda for the sugar and it is still wonderful... I will be making this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States