Peanut Butter Pie XIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Wow! I served this at a group and everyone loved this! Not too sweet, not too peanut buttery, not too runny, but a smooth pudding-like texture. Changes I made: I used 3/4 cup of flour. Also, I spooned the custard into a prepackaged Oreo crust that I brushed with beaten egg white and pre-baked in a 350 degree oven for 5 minutes. After reading reviews, I was worried that the custard wouldn't thicken, so what I did was added the sugar and flour to the milk/egg mixture only after a minute or two of cooking this on MEDIUM-LOW heat. I then brought the heat up to medium for about a minute and then brought it up to medium-high for another minute or two just to get the mixture to warm up. As soon as it was warm (and before it was simmering or the eggs had a chance to cook), I turned the heat back down to medium-low and continued to cook it. This whole process took about 10 minutes for it to thicken to a custard before I added the peanut butter and vanilla. It's important to remember to stir continuously throughout the cooking. I topped this with homemade sweetened whipped cream, a dusting of cocoa powder, and a few pieces of chocolate that I had melted into shapes. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Add more peanut butter, takes a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Good creamy pie....the only thing I would do is add another 1/4 cup of sugar. Not quite the sweetness levell needed...the pie was very peanut buttery, but needed a bit more sugar. I don't like those that eat sweets then complain it's too sweet. It needs to TASTE right. Overall, good recipe that needs a minor adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is just what I was looking for! A traditional peanut butter "custard" pie. My picky teenager requested a second pie, lol.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Not a great recipe. I had to add more flour and more peanut butter. Didn't set after an hour so I had to bake at 350 for 30 minutes and it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
this recipe is amazing ! i absolutely loved this pie i was surprised at how quick it thickened, i read the other reviews that said it was time consuming but it thickened in about 10 minutes or less but i also didnt realize i was supposed to boil the milk eggs and salt first then add things in, i added it all together and heated it up and it worked amazing, i also used 1/3 of flour instead of only 1/4 recipe was awesome ! thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I love this recipe and so did my brother, the ultimate peanut butter pie fan! Easy to make! Next time, though, I will probably add just a little more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
this is an awesome pie i lost my recipe a long time ago and this is the same . ive also added a few chocolate chips to garnish after cooled thanks havnt had this in years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This pie recipe is my absolute favorite! I made it last night because I have been wanting some for a while and the only place I know of to get a slice like this is an hour away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I love this recipe... It is a little time consuming, but is very simple and tastes GREAT... The last one I made I substituted Splenda for the sugar and it is still wonderful... I will be making this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States