Peanut Butter Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I can't believe I'm saying this, but this pie is too rich! I have the biggest sweet tooth and usually tolerate rich foods all right, but wow! If you make it, be prepared for a RICH taste, but almost sickening-sweet. My whole family could only eat one piece and that's it. I love peanut butter pies, have had them before... and I think what makes this recipe too rich is the cream cheese and the sweetened condensed milk. I think if it were lighter and fluffier and didn't have those ingredients it would be much better suited for my tastes. Thanks for posting either way, I was pumped to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The flavor of this pie is very good, but it did not turn out as thick as I would like. Maybe more cool whip next time. Also, as one reviewer suggested, a larger pie crust would be better as I had some filling left over (but I didn't mind licking the spoon :)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
really really sweet and RICH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paulina, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wonderfully easy! I did do a few things different, first off i hate Cool Whip when the real thing is so easy to make so i used 3/4th cup of cream and whipped it and add that as i would have the whipped topping. I piped a small amount on the top of the pie also to make it look pretty. I also used to Chocolate graham cracker crust. Next time i plan on getting a bigger pie crust because the 9 inch was either too small or the guessing game i had with the amount of whipped cream made my pie a bit too big. i also topped with home made Chocolate Syrup that can be found on this site. The taste reminds me a Reese's. I will plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is really good. I don't like chocolate syrup so i used an Oreo crust instead. It turned out beautifully and it was delicious. I will add that it's very rich and would go well with a cup of coffee. This is definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Just made this pie and it's way easier than I thought it would be. It tastes great too! I have one question; is the one cup of whipped topping actually one cup, or like an 8oz tub of cool whip? I will definately be making this again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I'm not sure why more people have not tried this or why it hasn't gotten 5 stars all around.... This pie is delicious and I get cravings for it. I have tried peanut butter pie at restaurants but they always seem so pretentious. This is the perfect, simple peanut butter pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alig
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This pie was a last minute idea. I made a gluten-free crust of dry crushed gf double chocolate cookies from T-day, and made up the pie. I used Redi Whip since it was all I had on hand, worked beautifully, froze for 30minutes and then to the fridge for another 30. It was ready for dessert on time and a simple but sweet treat to end the Christmas day. Great with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
YUM! This pie was just what I was looking for. The only changes I made was using only 1 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice, using a chocolate oreo cookie crust, and topping with mini chocolate chips. I will definately make this again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This pie is awesome, but if you want to add a twist to it, instead of using sweetened condensed milk, use chocolate sweetened condensed milk. It will even out some of the strong peanut butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancee Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States