Peanut Butter Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this several times and each time its better then the last my mother loves it she asks for it all the time and its gone in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Tastes better the next day or after it has set for hours for the flavors to mesh. I was worried about the consistency of the frosting at first, but adding a bit more of the buttermilk, it worked out fine. Don't make the same mistake I did by getting natural peanut butter that you have to stir and refrigerate. Otherwise it turned out well, the cake was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This cake was the bomb. Flipping it onto a cooling rack didn't work so well. Also needed to cook 30+ minutes. The taste was incredible and it didn't last long in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Rich and tasty! Everyone seems to like chocolate and peanut butter. I added a bag of peanut butter chips to the cake batter just to amp up the PB flavor a bit, and microwaved the peanut butter for about a minute before pouring onto the cake. I had some problems with the chocolate frosting since it was a bit sticky - couldn't get it to spread evenly over the peanut butter, but it still tasted good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this for my husbabds birthday and it was a complete hit. Everyone loved it.... for myself, it was a tad too sweet and also I tweekted a few things. I made a sheet cake, then cut it in half, I put a layer of peanut butter between the two halfs they iced the whole thing first with the peanut butter and then the chocolate iciing. I did half the chocolate iciing recipes and it still made way to much for this cake. Overall was really pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma1803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have been baking cakes for over 20 years. I wanted to try a new chocolate peanut butter cake, so I tried this. Let me say I was quite disappointed. I followed the directions exactly and I found the cake to be too dry and crumbly. I baked it for 20 minutes in a 9x13 pan. The thin peanut bitter layer needed something else and the frosting was too sweet and rich for this particular cake. It definitely overpowered the cake's flavor. One reviewer was right when saying you only need to eat a small piece because of the sweetness. (and I LOVE sweet!) I ended up refridgerating it overnight to see if that would help the dryness and it actually did. The cake is not nearly as crumbly and it's a bit denser than yesterday after I baked and frosted it. I doubt I will make this cake again, but thank you for the recipe just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Peanut butter and chocolate are the best combination. Very good recipe. I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is SINFUL, moist & rich. I Didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is way too sweet. Even my five-year-old daughter said it was too sweet and didn't want it. I thought 4 cups seemed like a lot of sugar when I put it in the bowl. I'd recommend you add the sugar slowly to taste. I also had to add a touch of water to make the "frosting" more spreadable, even though I know it's supposed to be like fudge. I will not make this again. It's too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I'm not a peanut butter fan however my family is so I thought I'd give this recipe a try as written. As some stated, the batter was the consistency of a brownie batter...The only problem I had was with the frosting...I wish it was posted to make it during the cooling off period of the cake because for some reason, it didn't spread as I hoped it would...it was a bit on the clumpy side, but overall, it's okbut the peanut butter overpowers the cake & the frosting, so I doubt if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States