Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TRindell
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
After modifying this recipe in the following ways, this was BY FAR, one of the most awesome homemade frostings I have ever made or tasted! AMAZING on chocolate cake (or cupcakes, as I made). The recipe I used was as follows: 1 cup creamy NON-GENERIC peanut butter (the peanut butter taste will only be as good as the type of peanut butter you use-- I used Jiff and it was awesome), 1 stick BUTTER (not margarine), 2 cups confectioners sugar (NOT 4!) and 2-3 Tbsp cream OR milk. I creamed the first two ingredients together, added the sugar and then added the cream at the end and just whipped away in my electric mixer. For those of you who hated this recipe and said it was too greasy and not spreadable, you probably either used crappy peanut butter or used margarine which is more oily than butter OR you didn't mix the butter (at room temp) and peanut butter (also at room temp) enough before adding the sugar... use the recipe I just wrote above, and you simply can't go wrong... it was absolutely TO DIE FOR on my chocolate cupcakes and everyone at work LOVED them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1887 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I reduced the sugar to 2 cups and added 1/2 cup more peanut butter. This was good, fluffy frosting. It had just the right peanut butter flavor. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This is an excellent recipe as it is, but I found that by adding a tsp. of vanilla, it gave it a more pronounced peanut butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea Gassman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was amazing. I follwed the advice of others and adjusted the recipe for sweetness and over butteriness. Here's what I came up with: 1 and 1/4 cup peanut butter (room temp), 1 stick butter (at room temp), 1 and 1/3 cup confectioners sugar (added slowly and mixing after each time) 4 Tbs cream. What I did was after creaming together the PB and butter and slowly added the sugar 1/3 cup at a time with 1 Tbs cream. after I mixed it I tasted it and repeated. It tasted best to me at 1 and 1 1/3 cup sugar. I added more PB (the extra 1/4 cup) about half way through to make it more peanut buttery. It's VERY rich. I used it as the filling for a chocolate cake, then frosted with chocolate and sprinkled the new PB and chocolate swirled chips. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Ok, with modifications this is 5 stars but the original recipe is probably only worth 3! So 4 for a compromise. IF you use 2 cups confectioner's sugar and 1 1/2 cups peanut butter, you'll get a very peanut butter flavored icing; 2 cups sugar with 1 cup pb would make a milder one, though I like my peanut butter! It was delicious on a Mahogany Sour Cream Cake from http://web.kraftfoods.com/. It worked fine on the sides of my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I have been on the hunt for the perfect peanut butter frosting, and from reading the reviews for this, I thought I had found it. However, my search will continue. I was not impressed with this recipe at all. I needed to add MUCH more milk (I had no cream in the house) than the recipe called for. After the first cup, I added 1/3 cup as stated, but after every half cup, I needed to add a healthy splash of milk to make the frosting spreadable. I used two and a half cups, and found that it did make enough to frost my two layer cake, with some left over, however, I didn't like the taste at all. Too much butter, not enough peanut butter, perhaps milk should not be substituted for the cream? I'm not sure, but like I said, the search will continue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I thought this was very good. I made it according to the recipe. (Please don't mark recipes down when you make a bunch of changes in its preparation.) I thought it did taste like peanut butter cup filling, although maybe not as strongly flavored of peanut butter as those are. I used my frosting over a layer of chocolate ganache over a chocolate cake. People really seemed to like it. This frosting does tint well if you use a lot of paste coloring and stick to primary colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very rich and creamy. Used milk instead of cream and only needed 3 cups of powdered sugar. I spread it on Dark Chocolate Cake II from this site, chilled it,and then drizzled Satiny Chocolate Glaze, also from this site, over the cake. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Wow, this was one of the most disappointing recipes that I have ever tried from this site. I really struggled not to rate it lower. I ended up having to doctor this up a ton to get it to an edible status. I added some regular, granulated sugar and vanilla and I had to add a ton more cream. I did bring the butter to room temperature and used a fresh jar of Peter Pan peanut butter. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Like the rest of the gang I also cut back on the sugar and added more peanut butter. I also used cream cheese in lieu of the cream. I made cupcakes which, once cooled and using my electric cookie press, I filled each cupcake with jelly and then topped them with this absolutely delicious frosting. YUM!!!! Thanks Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States