Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very tasty recipe. A little temperamental though. Here are some tips to avoid frustration. 1) Your frosting mixture should be at a gentle simmer (or it may burn) so adjust the heat accordingly. I had to use med-low since med-high was bubbling way too furiously. 2) Melt and mix butter, cream, peanut butter, and vanilla first, then gradually mix in sugars. 3) Taste test as you add the sugars: I found 1 cup of each type to be plenty sweet, so I left out the 2nd cup of confectioners' sugar. 4) Keep gently simmering and stirring constantly (not frequently) until all sugar is dissolved. 5) Spread quickly and use the back of a spoon to pound it out if necessary. As stated in the recipe, quick spreading is important. As it cools (quickly) the PB oil makes the frosting not want to stick very well. It just wants to peel right off. Fortunately, my brownies were 95% covered by then with only a little unevenness, so I took the back of a spoon and pounded it even. It was my first time making this recipe and it came out awesome with the mentioned modifications. I gave it 4 stars because I really didn't change much, I just had to take a few unmentioned steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
no need to buy heavy cream since milk or half & half works fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This frosting is the BEST on Chocolate cake and just melts in your mouth! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I had my doubts when I read the recipe that this would be the fluffy frosting I was looking for. After making it I was pleasantly surprised and loved it on the brownies that I had made and added peanut butter chips to. I could almost eat just the frosting. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Added extra peanut butter and used milk. Great on mocha brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahKay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I must have done something wrong - mine looked awful and wasn't really soft and creamy like I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I used this recipe and tweaked it just a bit ... I added more fresh cream with the powdered sugar to make it less fudge-y and more frosting-y! :) It came out just fine. I also a full 1/4 cup of peanut butter because it needed a little more taste to balance the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very good ! i also left out 1 cup of the confectioners' sugar, and it was plenty sweet, it was probably also easier to spread. It will burn quickly, be sure to stir constantly !! Be sure to sift powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is great, I fixed it just like you said, allowing it only to come to a boil, first time to try this, it was wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Super yummy on brownies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States