Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
FOR THOSE HAVING TROUBLE "SHAPING" THESE INTO EGG SHAPES, SIMPLY USE THE PLASTIC FILLABLE EASTER EGGS. OPEN THEM UP, PRESS MIX DOWN INSIDE, PLACE THEM ON A COOKIE SHEET IN THE FREEZER FOR A FEW MINUTES. TURN THEM OVER, TAP ON THE COOKIE SHEET, AND THEY FALL RIGHT OUT BEAUTIFULLY SHAPED LIKE HALF AN EGG...!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Well... you just wouldn't believe what I did with this recipe!! First, I recognized this recipe to be very similar to 'buckeyes'. So, I decided to make numerous easter eggs (like the size of a cadbury egg - with a flat bottom so they can stand on their own) and decorate them with different colored chocolates. I changed the recipe just alittle and added 1 t. vanilla. 1/2 creamy and 1/2 crunchy peanut butter AND I added about 1 cup of Rice Krispys. After mixing, I shaped the eggs (I got 16 eggs from this recipe) and put them in the freezer for about an hour. I then dip each egg twice into the chocolate. (This takes a bit of time.) After that, I divided the white chocolate (& shortening) into smaller portions and added food coloring so I had White, Blue, Green and Pink colors. Using a spoon and one color at a time, I 'sprayed' each egg using a swift motion back and forth across the pan the eggs were in. I think they look very festive!! Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
543 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMLOUV
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is a great recipe! We made them for a housewarming party the day before Easter and everyone loved them. We used half creamy and half crunchy peanut butter and used that new Baker's dipping chocolate to coat them. We doubled the recipe and had about 35 eggs. It took 4 of the little dipping tubs to coat all of the eggs, but I found it a LOT easier. We also used a little of the chocolate to "stripe" the eggs by going back and forth very fast with a chocolate covered fork. They were very pretty. We put them in paper muffin liners since we were taking them to a party. One more note for the candy novices like me -- when you combine the ingredients it seems very dry, but it really holds the shape so don't be scared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Awesome recipe! What I was looking for and more! I was in a pinch and needed to make my own PB Eggs, my kids said that these were "The Best" I used a good quality peanut butter (Jif) not the cheap stuff. The better brand of PB gives these a more PB taste...which is what we want. Also instead of the semi sweet chocolate and shortening, I went to a bulk food store and bought Milk Chocolate melting wafers. Very yummy! I already have had people requesting me to make these to sell and orders for next year. Wow! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!! I'm sure these will become a tradition in my household :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
4.5 stars for me! Almost made ourselves sick from eating too many at one go! I followed suggestions of melting the butter, and using crunchy PB, but mixture was still v. crumbly, so mixed in extra 1T milk and the mix came together. Eggs are very sweet (but SOOOOO yummy), so next time I will use 1/2 c. less powdered sugar, and mixture probably won't be as crumbly. V. easy to shape - this batch made 36 walnut sized eggs. Didn't need to freeze the eggs for an hour - 10 minutes chilling time and the eggs were good to dip. Adding melted shortening to the chocolate thins the chocolate and makes dipping easier. 2x10 year olds and 1x4 year old made the eggs and dipped them within 1.5 hours. Excellent recipe - a real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made these eggs last night popped them in the fridge over night and coated them in the chocolate mixture this morning. Wish I had made them a little smaller than I did. Afeter chocolate coating them I put them in the fridge again while i melted some white chocolat with food coloring. Scooped this into a plastic baggie and swiped it across the eggs. Very pretty. Very tasty. Arranged on a plate with some green tinted coconut. Cant wait to hear my father in laws reaction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
What can I say besides OMG! These are so good! (My sister-in-law actually "swooned" after biting into one). To counteract the sweetness of the peanut butter mixture, I used bittersweet chocolate instead of semi-sweet to coat the "egg." The combination was to die for. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
If you use the plastc easter eggs as a mold, here is an easy way to coat and shape your eggs: "paint" the inside of the plastic egg with melted chocolate. Let the chocolate harden (the freezer speeds this up), then spoon in the PB filling. Again, let the candy set and then add more chocolate to cover the PB filling. Once the final layer is set, the candy will pop out of the mold in the perfect shape. This is much easier than shaping and dipping, and it comes out looking perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I followed this recipe based on the reviews of 4-5 stars without actually reading the reviews. After I made the eggs that turned out VERY dry and too sweet, I revisited the reviews to make sure I wasn't imaging that this recipe had received such high reviews. I found that the majority of the 4 and 5 star reviews mention having to alter the recipe in some way to make up for the sweetness and dryness! So, if you're thinking about making this recipe, please take the time to actually read the reviews and follow everyone's advice about adding more peanut butter or less sugar. Unfortunately, I assumed that 4 or 5 stars meant that the recipe was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsey
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
These were awesome! Following the advice of others, I used crunchy peanut butter. I did have to modify the recipe a little, as the mixture was extremely crumbly I had to add about an extra half cup of Peanutbutter. After that the mixture worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States