Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
If making the smaller eggs, bypass trying to hand dip these, which is really fiddly and difficult, and buy a couple of inexpensive plastic candy molds from the craft store to use instead. I tried both ways and the molds were the easiest by far, especially as it becomes a fun project for the kids that way. Just coat the inside of the mold with chocolate, pat in a ball of filling, cover with more chocolate, then chill to set. We used colored candy melts to hand color the molds first. If you do hand dip, make sure to keep the eggs in the freezer and only take a few out at a time to dip as they soften extremely quickly and will turn to mush when you try to dip (at least they did for us). I would also use milk chocolate next time and reduce the butter in the filling as it was really soft and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Ihave been making these for many years, but I add 10 graham crackers-ground up, and use chocolate morsels melted in the microwave. They are so good they rarely last past Easter. My grandchildren ask me to make them even when it is not Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessilala
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Taste just like reese peanut butter cups!!! I used milk chocolate instead, I also did 1 and 1/4 cup peanut butter, and 4 tablespoons milk. I did use 16 ounces of confections sugar but then added a little more by eye ball to make the dough more easier to work with. Will deff make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessilala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made these one day for my classmates and they LOVED them! Now it seems like I'm making these every other weekend for people to eat. This is an easy to follow recipe and it doesn't take along time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
great for any occasion. I highly recommend using fresh ground peanuts ( a store near me called The Fresh Market sells fresh ground peanuts, cashews and almonds) makes a HUGE difference. I use a little more butter because the fresh peanut butter has less oils
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I luv this recipe!! It's so easy!But i made a change by just using the choc disc's it was so much easier!!! I have made so many i am getting sick of looking at them! But thanks for the recipe! Will continue to make them for yrs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made these last year for Easter and they came out so good! Everyone raved about them. I made them into small eggs, These are excellent! Thanks so much for this recipe. Getting ready to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I had to add twice the milk to make the "dough" workable. Rolling them into egg shapes was too time-consuming so we just made balls. Not sure this is the best Buckeye recipe out there..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These are great! I melted a bag of Hershey's semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares it asked for. Also, I melted the butter it asks for and mixed that right in to the perfect consistany dough. Every one that tried these said that they tasted like Reese's penut butter cups without knowing that the previous person had already said the same thing! The Hershey's chocolate chips I'd say is responsible for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'm sorry, but I find that I'm just eating peanut butter with chocolate and there are already jams that have that combination. It's too rich even as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States