Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These taste good, but I have some issues. I pressed the pb mixture into the bottom of a silicone muffin cup, and they came out resembling reeses. But when I dipped them in chocolate (after freezing for quite a while), so much of them crumbled off that the chocolate was a mess, and the "reeses cups" came out looking rough. I would like to add more pb next time to see if they could be a little less crumbly but still be handled. I used super dark chocolate to counteract the sweetness of the confectioner's sugar. I also think tempering the chocolate would be a good idea, as mine didn't set up as well as I would like. I also used coconut oil in place of the shortening, so I don't know if that affected how it set up. If I tempered it, I don't think I would need to add anything to the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These are good and easy. I think maybe there should be a little more peanut butter and less sugar though. The filling is pretty much flavored powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cher
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made for Easter. Had to add more cream to pull it together. Thought honey may be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
they were good! But they were very sticky!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
will make them smaller next time. dipped & decorated; placed them around Lamb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Used 1 stick of butter, softened. Added 1/2 container of Trader Joe's Creamy Peanut Butter & a full container of Crunchy peanut butter, creamed with 1 large splash of vanilla & about 2 lbs of 10x sugar. Form, then freeze. Coat in chocolate and decorate with sprinkles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I tried this recipe with my grandma and we thought it was awesome. However, we did have to add more chocolate and shortening to the melted mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
First I have to say that my family went nuts over these! I did leave out a little of the sugar so they were not so sweet. I only had milk chocolate bakers chocolate to cover the eggs in, but they still came out AMAZING! I made smaller eggs and used a teasppon to help shape them. I dunked them in chocolate (let them set) then drizzled colored white chocolate acrossed the top. I WILL FOR SURE BE MAKING THESE AGAIN!!! Thank you :) Family is already asking me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Giant buckeyes! Great easter treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
The basics of this recipe are good, but you definitely need to tweak the amounts. I added more peanut butter to make it less crumbly and less confectioner's sugar to make it not too sweet. The final results were good, but if I'd have stuck to the recipe as written, they wouldn't have worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States