Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
Thanks for sharing. I sent your recipe to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Instead of making eggs(Though I do plan to make them for easter)I made hearts for Valentines Day and gave them away, everyone who ate them liked them(My lil' hasn't ate his he's about as picky as they come!!!)But they tasted wonderfull and even without the peanut butter, which I left some uncoated to to me not using a double boiler and burning the chocolate, well my mom got to eat some since she eats no chocolate!!! Anyways the point is they're EASY to to make and they're delicious and they could be made for ANY occasion!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Well... you just wouldn't believe what I did with this recipe!! First, I recognized this recipe to be very similar to 'buckeyes'. So, I decided to make numerous easter eggs (like the size of a cadbury egg - with a flat bottom so they can stand on their own) and decorate them with different colored chocolates. I changed the recipe just alittle and added 1 t. vanilla. 1/2 creamy and 1/2 crunchy peanut butter AND I added about 1 cup of Rice Krispys. After mixing, I shaped the eggs (I got 16 eggs from this recipe) and put them in the freezer for about an hour. I then dip each egg twice into the chocolate. (This takes a bit of time.) After that, I divided the white chocolate (& shortening) into smaller portions and added food coloring so I had White, Blue, Green and Pink colors. Using a spoon and one color at a time, I 'sprayed' each egg using a swift motion back and forth across the pan the eggs were in. I think they look very festive!! Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
544 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
These were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Absolutely delicious, peanut buttery and melt-in-your-mouth. Shaped them like buckeye balls and left upside without chocolate. Will definitely make them again. Hardly took me 10 minutes for shaping + 10 minutes one hour later to dip in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Awesome recipe! What I was looking for and more! I was in a pinch and needed to make my own PB Eggs, my kids said that these were "The Best" I used a good quality peanut butter (Jif) not the cheap stuff. The better brand of PB gives these a more PB taste...which is what we want. Also instead of the semi sweet chocolate and shortening, I went to a bulk food store and bought Milk Chocolate melting wafers. Very yummy! I already have had people requesting me to make these to sell and orders for next year. Wow! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!! I'm sure these will become a tradition in my household :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These were quick and easy to make. I didn't change anything and they taste great. I did make smaller eggs and they turned out really well. Thanks for the recipe, that will become a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
My six year old daughter and I made these for or family for Easter. She had so much fun helping and everyone thought the eggs were wonderful. They were a huge sucess. We will be making these again. Thanks for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMLOUV
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is a great recipe! We made them for a housewarming party the day before Easter and everyone loved them. We used half creamy and half crunchy peanut butter and used that new Baker's dipping chocolate to coat them. We doubled the recipe and had about 35 eggs. It took 4 of the little dipping tubs to coat all of the eggs, but I found it a LOT easier. We also used a little of the chocolate to "stripe" the eggs by going back and forth very fast with a chocolate covered fork. They were very pretty. We put them in paper muffin liners since we were taking them to a party. One more note for the candy novices like me -- when you combine the ingredients it seems very dry, but it really holds the shape so don't be scared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I'm nine years old,and my name is Sydney. My mom,Leigh Ann,made these as a valentines day treat. They were so chocolatey, when I took my first bite,I almost fell over backwards! It was the best treat EVER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States