Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've used this same recipe for years to make into balls at Christmas, and even into hearts for Valentine's Day. One thing I do add in: I use a small amount of "dry roasted" peanuts, which I have whirred in food processor until VERY finely chopped - almost "dust" (about 1/4 - 1/3 cup). The saltiness and texture of the nut crumbs is very much like "Reese's" peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These eggs were a blast to make, even though I made them all by myself. :) They are super easy to make, and taste amazing. Friends LOVE them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum! I made these yesterday and they were great! I had to tweak just a few things as we were on vacation all week and were missing some of the ingredients when we got back. I was out of milk so I added some ice cream instead. And I used chocolate chips with no shortening to do the chocolate covering. I wanted to make them pretty to I melted some peanut butter chips that I was going to dye with food colouring to drizzle on. When I added the food colouring to the first batch, it seized up and couldn't be used. So I just drizzled with peanut coloured drizzle. They still looked good and tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made the peanut butter dough the night before Easter, shaped the next morning into small 2 bite size (size of mini cupcake papers) and they were PERFECT!! Followed the recipe exactly and sprinkled with sprinkles while the chocolate was still wet...put them in the frig for a few hours and BOY were these GOOD!!! People were hiding them, they were so good ;) THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tampagirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very cute and easy to make. I didn't find them to be messy at all. I used crunchy peanut butter instead to give it some texture and eyeballed the milk until it was the consistency I liked. People were very impressed by the presentation. A little to sweet for my taste but still a nice little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The recipe was really dry and would not stick together so had to add a lot more peanut butter and milk, then someone suggested buying plastic eggs so I stuffed the plastic eggs stuck them in the freezer. When I tried to take them out of the egg they would not come out. However the mixture taste great but I ended up just throwing eggs and all out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Have been making these for over 50 yrs. - sold many dozen. Using this basic recipe I also used crunchy peanut butter - rolled into balls and only coated half the ball - Also make coconut eggs - just use more butter and a small bag of coconut or 15 oz. of confectioners sugar and 1 cup butter with butter or vanilla flavoring and we called those "Butter Jets" - rolled them in a ball, than flattened the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made these to put in my boys' easter baskets and they turned out great! I used chunky peanut butter because that's what I had. I think these were pretty sweet, so I might try to use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made these for a LifeGroup gathering... excellent reviews! Everyone kept asking for more!!! Thanks for a delicious and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Too much sugar and not enough peanut butter flavor. Would like something that better resembles Reeses....including a different coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States