Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've used this same recipe for years to make into balls at Christmas, and even into hearts for Valentine's Day. One thing I do add in: I use a small amount of "dry roasted" peanuts, which I have whirred in food processor until VERY finely chopped - almost "dust" (about 1/4 - 1/3 cup). The saltiness and texture of the nut crumbs is very much like "Reese's" peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These eggs were a blast to make, even though I made them all by myself. :) They are super easy to make, and taste amazing. Friends LOVE them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum! I made these yesterday and they were great! I had to tweak just a few things as we were on vacation all week and were missing some of the ingredients when we got back. I was out of milk so I added some ice cream instead. And I used chocolate chips with no shortening to do the chocolate covering. I wanted to make them pretty to I melted some peanut butter chips that I was going to dye with food colouring to drizzle on. When I added the food colouring to the first batch, it seized up and couldn't be used. So I just drizzled with peanut coloured drizzle. They still looked good and tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made the peanut butter dough the night before Easter, shaped the next morning into small 2 bite size (size of mini cupcake papers) and they were PERFECT!! Followed the recipe exactly and sprinkled with sprinkles while the chocolate was still wet...put them in the frig for a few hours and BOY were these GOOD!!! People were hiding them, they were so good ;) THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tampagirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very cute and easy to make. I didn't find them to be messy at all. I used crunchy peanut butter instead to give it some texture and eyeballed the milk until it was the consistency I liked. People were very impressed by the presentation. A little to sweet for my taste but still a nice little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The recipe was really dry and would not stick together so had to add a lot more peanut butter and milk, then someone suggested buying plastic eggs so I stuffed the plastic eggs stuck them in the freezer. When I tried to take them out of the egg they would not come out. However the mixture taste great but I ended up just throwing eggs and all out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Have been making these for over 50 yrs. - sold many dozen. Using this basic recipe I also used crunchy peanut butter - rolled into balls and only coated half the ball - Also make coconut eggs - just use more butter and a small bag of coconut or 15 oz. of confectioners sugar and 1 cup butter with butter or vanilla flavoring and we called those "Butter Jets" - rolled them in a ball, than flattened the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made these to put in my boys' easter baskets and they turned out great! I used chunky peanut butter because that's what I had. I think these were pretty sweet, so I might try to use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made these for a LifeGroup gathering... excellent reviews! Everyone kept asking for more!!! Thanks for a delicious and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Too much sugar and not enough peanut butter flavor. Would like something that better resembles Reeses....including a different coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States