Peanut Butter Cup Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I'm giving this 5 stars because the peanut butter filling was wonderful. I didn't have whole graham crackers, so I used some graham cracker crumbs, sugar and butter to make a baked graham cracker crust. When that cooled, I prepared and spread the peanut butter mixture over it. I followed THAT part of the recipe exactly, and was very very impressed with the texture and taste of the final product - tasted very much like "real" peanut butter cup peanut butter. I really liked the crust underneath the peanut butter and chocolate, and will make it again exactly as I did before. It's an extra step, but well worth it, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Mmm! This has a very smooth center, making it different from all of the other peanut butter bars. I made a graham cracker crust with g.c. crumbs and butter, only because I didn't have graham crackers on hand--it is delicious! I stuck it in the freezer after putting it together, and it was set and ready to eat in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Certainly not low in calories, but EXCELLENT and EASY. I don't understand the 50 hr. wait time in the recipe....I served them the next day and they got rave reviews. I know I will make these again and again....NO baking required! I added some extra baking chocolate and 1/2 cup rice krispies to the chocolate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This recipe was SO good, but it has to much chocolate my options are to drizzle the chocolate on and do not spread it or to do half the chocolate and spread thinly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
wow wow wee wow! I didn't have any graham crackers so I just left the whole crust part out. Maybe next time I'll try a layer of crackers, chocolate, then peanut butter and chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are delicious and very easy to make. My problem was the chocolate layer cracked on every piece when cut, so they didn't look too pretty. Next time I may add a tablespoon of peanut butter to the chocolate while melting it, this should make a softer texture thus easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
These are VERY good and easy. The whole graham crackers make the topchocolate layer crack after they have set because they still shift underneath while cutting. Will make it with crushed grhams and butter as crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sawler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
This is THE best bar I've ever made. My family loved it. They didn't last long in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow, these are great, and sooo sweet. I usually don't like it when people modify recipes, but I did it this time myself, by making a chocolate graham cracker crust, instead of using regular graham crackers (really because when my sons and I went to the grocery store, my sons were asking for so many things and I kept saying no, no ,no, because they had gotten things earlier in the week, so I was trying to get out of there as quickly as possible-thus no crackers) but I did have the chocolate ones at home. Well anyway, all the peanut butter lovers I had try this, loved it! A real winner. I also used loe fat peanut butter, but after everything else that we put in these I thought, hummm....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These are so simple and so yummy. I had to add a little more powdered sugar because the peanut butter mixture was too creamy and I was afraid it wouldn't set up on the graham crackers. I ended up adding an addition 1/2 cup and it worked great. They were a huge hit and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States