Peanut Butter Christmas Mice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I made these into Easter bunnies! I used almond slivers for ears and pastel M&Ms for their tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Randi
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I just finished making these. They turned out great! I made sure the dough was completely chilled before I baked them and they didn't spread out much. Since I had to use what I had, I used red ball sprinkles as noses and green jimmies as eyes. For the ears I used chocolate chips stuck on with white chocolate after baking and white chocolate swirled tails. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I make them but I don't put the tail on them. My kids don't like that type of candy. But you can add sprinkles and make some look like girls. Have fun and add they cutie stuff your kids would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma3
Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
its awesome i have tried them and my mom made some for my soccer team
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Time consuming but fun cookies! I used crunchy pb, sliced almonds for the ears, mini chocolate chips for the eyes & caramel for the tails. I roughly formed the mouse shape with an oval Tbsp BEFORE I refrigerated the dough which I think helped a lot since the dough became a little crumbly once chilled. The caramel worked great for the tails! I just cut individually wrapped caramels in half, then rolled them between my palms to make a rope shape. I stuck the tail in the warm cookie & it melted a little, keeping it in place. Next time I'd use a different candy for the eyes -the chocolate melted & was messy. Overall great taste & presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are really cute. I used almond slices for the ears. I think I like these better than peanuts because the ears are bigger. They are more fragile with the almonds. I also used black licorice wheels by Haribo for the tail. This worked well because they are wound-up so the tails curled well. Next time I will shape them into balls before the chill time. I lost patience with how long it was taking to mold the chilled dough and I think the chill is important to keep them from flattening out. My kids reminded me of another fun Christmas mouse I made...you take a marachino cherry that has the stem on and dip it in chocolate. Then take a Hershey kiss and lay both on their sides on waxed paper as you touch the bottom of the kiss to the bottom of the cherry. The point of the kiss is the nose and the stem of the cherry is the tail. Then quickly slip two almond slices in between the kiss and cherry as ears (with the rounded part up). Allow chocolate to dry and then come back later and make eyes with a toothpick, using royal icing, melted white chocolte, or even the frosting you can buy in a tube. Remember the ears are kinda fragile. My dad loves these because he is a big chocolate cherry fan!! Thanks for posting the peanut butter Christmas mice. They are more old fashioned looking than the cherry mice and I was looking for an old fashioned Christmas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My daughter loves the look on her friends faces when she brings them for her christmas party each year. Everyone thinks they are to cute to eat and hopes that they're in her class next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hortense, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very time consuming but worth the effort. The dough was very crumbly and I had to squeeze it to make it work. I apparently didn't make the backs pointed enough because I ended up with flat mice. I used Reese's Pieces for the eyes, almond slivers for the ears, and pull and peel Twizzler's for the tails. The kids loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roslyn Hazen
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
a family fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Green Jeanne
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Needed something "fun" for a baking class and these were it. The youngest was six and the oldest was nine. We had a blast. Skipped cooling part as time was in short hand. The mice turned out well but flattened a tad. Used sliced almonds for ears, mini chocolate chips for eyes and licorice--(what a pain). An older boy mentioned that, "I can't believe the kids made these, this is probably the best snack they've made so far."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States