Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Instead of dropping these for cookies, spread and pat in a pan for bars! Then just spread the melted choc/butterscotch chips on top. Less hassle than dropping them on wax paper. I have been making these for years but my recipe calls for Special K cereal. This is a favorite around our house and gets raves wherever I take them! So yummy and Chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kentwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My kids love these! These are also good made with Captain Crunch cereal. I've also tried Chex cereal and they turned out great. My kids like them best made with Rice Krispies. I ususally whatever cereal I have on hand. For those that had them turn out too hard, you just cooked them a little too long. I begin timing as soon as I see bubbles around the edges of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Ok, so I really stuffed this up. My 'chews' ended up rock hard! Was my mistake to boil the corn syrup and sugar for one minute, starting when the WHOLE pan was boiling? Or should it have been one minute from when the mixture was furiously bubbling round the edges of the pan? I threw them all out. What a shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Oh my gosh- SO YUMMY!! My coworkers are going nuts over them. I had no problem getting them to stay soft and chewy. My Pampered Chef small scoop was perfect for spooning them out. I took the others' advice and used 5 cups of cornflakes and didn't bother with the chocolate drizzle. I think I need to move them out of my office before I eat the whole batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My 12 year old son loves these chews! Very easy to make & travel well in school lunch box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Soooooo good, they are very adicting, and hard to stop eating once you start! Would be a great after school snack for kids. It tastes better after it has sat for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I liked these, but I think I liked "Peanut Butter Bars VI" on this site much better because they were more crunchy. I thought these were a bit tough to work with (i.e., gooey) when dropping them, and were chewy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is the first review I've ever given...but I absolutely had to!! These are the cookies I remember getting during school lunch. And we all know there wasn't much to look forward to during school lunch. I used the 5 cups of cornflakes as others suggested. Brings back memories...THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyna K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe is wonderful! It was very easy to make and everone loved them. They were very chewy. The people who had hard chews, probably over cooked the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I have been looking for this recipe since grade school! It's quick, easy, and delicious! I will be making these for my kids for many years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States