Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by HCBYRD
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe for peanut butter lovers!... Like others suggested, I only boiled the sugar and corn syrup for 30 seconds... and I had the peanut butter premeasured... I used about 2 1/2 cups of Chex cereal and 2 1/2 cups of Honey Bunches of Oats cereal... I also went ahead and made the chocolate-butterscotch drizzle...which was awesome, but way too much...I drizzled pretty generously and still had a lot left over... which wasn't bad because I used the remaining mixture to dip half of the drizzled "chews" in... I think the chews were good without the drizzle, but you won't be disappointed if you do decide to make it... My suggestion is to reduce the chips to 1/2 semi-sweet & 1/2 butterscotch... Overall, this was a very rich and delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCBYRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These are very YUMMY!! Just like what my mom made for us kids back in the 50's!! Glad to have found the recipe! Will be making these often, thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These are sooo yummy and simple to make!!! DO NOT USE PANCAKE SYRUP! I used 5 1/2 cups of cornflakes, omitted the chocolate/butterscotch drizzle (they are super sweet already) and mixed everything in a large glass bowl. As others have mentioned boil only 30 seconds (boiling them too long causes them to become hard instead of chewy). Spray your wax paper w/ cooking spray before dropping the chews onto it. These are even tasty warm but better the next day. Next time I may add some almonds for a crunch. Little ones are sure to enjoy this tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My family LOVES these easy to make treats. One thing I do differently is put the corn flakes in a very large bowl, then add the peanut butter mixture. It is so much easier to mix and less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are great and remind me of being a kid. I made them with pancake syrup, like some others suggested, and they turned out great! I could use a little more flavor, so I may end up drizzling them with chocolate. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I loved these when I was a kid. It would be nice if the school cafetarias where we lived actually made great food like this, rather than hire companies to come in and serve our children the processed junk that they put on the line. Just my 2 cents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was a great way to get rid of leftover cereal that no one wanted to eat. I thought these were really good. My husband didn't like them as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Just the peanut butter fix I was looking for. Super fast and easy, using ingredients I had on hand. Great non-messy treat for the kids. I halved the batch and it made plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Such an easy, sweet treat. I spread these in a metal 13x9 and then just sprinkled the choc chips over the top then stuck it under the broiler till the chips started to melt and I could spread them with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Just like we used to make as kids! I didn't have corn syrup so I substituted 3/4 honey and 1/4 pancake syrup. It's all I had on hand and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States