Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Oh my - these are spectacular! I used 5 cups of cereal and only about 1/4 cup of butterscotch chips. I spread these out in a greased pan and then drizzled the melted chips on top so we'd have bars. It doesn't get much better than this! I, too, only boiled the syrup/sugar mixture for 30 seconds and these stayed nice and soft. Takes very little time or effort and the flavor is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years (as bars) and topping with the chocolate/butterscotch chip combo. The consistency is fine if you don't pack it down too much. I never have any leftovers of these bars. Excellent and super quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Quite simple to make.. I didn't make them into cookies, i made them into bars, and I refrigerated them after i put the chocolate on top so it would harden, but DON'T DO IT! They were impossible to cut, so I had to 'unthaw' them in the microwave. I brought them to a staff party and everyone loved them, but they are so so soooo sticky and get stuck in your teeth, and are actually quite hard to bite into. So people DO like them, but I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Simply the very best! they were so easy to make & we all really did enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Pretty good. I used frosted flakes (5 cups as suggested), and I crushed them some, but I'm thinking they might have been better crushed more finely, as it would have made the bars more dense. I like them best refrigerated. I sprayed a 9x13 pan with Pam and pressed the mixture into it. 3/4C of melted chocolate chips drizzled on top was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
YUMMY!! Our whole family loved these! I pressed them in a 9x9 square pan, sprayed with Pam and covered with the chocolate and butterscotch chips. They were easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbon Cliff, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
IMHO, Cheerios are the best cereal to use with this recipe. I usually press into a buttered pan and cut into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I use Rice Krispies to make these easier to work with, always remove from heat *after* stirring in the PB, and skip the drizzle! If I'm making them for home I press the recipe into a 9x13 pan and then cut into bars, but for a large group I make them into balls for ease of serving and clean up! (to make balls, scoop onto wax paper lined cookie sheets quickly, then go back and roll each "pile" into a nice ball!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Try it this way! I took Trader Joe's high protein/high fiber cereal and processed it until fine. I used 2 1/2 cups of that and 1 cup of regular rolled oats. 4 1/2 cups of dry ingredients would have made this much too dry. Very very good and at least some nutritional benefit. Not a 'diet' food of course, but a 'cookie with benefits'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bandrs
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I'm so delighted to find this recipe! Both of my husband's grandmas worked in the high school cafeteria so he grew up on these except they were made with Cheerios and they were pressed into a pan and cut into bars. I never really cared for them but I love this version with corn flakes. They make a softer bar and are much easier to chew. I followed the advice of other reviewers and boiled the corn syrup mixture for about 30 seconds. Then I lightly crushed the corn flakes so that they would have a more uniform texture. Once cut, I dipped the bars in melted chocolate and drizzled the rest on top. My whole family LOVES these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States