Peanut Butter Carrot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Great idea to do the carrot, I'm always looking for ways to make snacks for my toddler more nutritious! I apologise if this offends but I played around with this recipe quite a bit. I bake a lot of cookies so I set out to fix the crumbling issue the other posters commented on and the turned out fantastic. Got my toddlers seal of approval. Here's what I did. 1/2 cup butter slightly cooler than room temp so still firm but able to be cut easily 1 cup brown sugar 3/4 cup peanut butter 2 eggs no milk 1 3/4 cups blended whole wheat flour 1/4 tsp salt 1 tsp baking powder 1 3/4 1 generous cup of grated carrots bake @ 375 until golden around the edges and they look dry on top. My oven (gas) took around 15 mins. Cheers! 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These cookies were really nice. I used a little bit extra flour, since I read that the cookies kept falling apart. The first time I made these cookies, I did it without the chips, and they okay. The second time I made them with semi-sweet chips and some dried cranberries and WOW did the chips make a difference. These are really yummy, don't be scared by how many different ingredients are in it! I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These cookies are a great way to use up some carrots. Following Cooks Illustrated guidelines on leavening, I added 3/4 tsp baking powder. Also added 1 tsp vanilla. Used two cups of chocolate chips. Also, be sure to cook for less time - 12 minutes was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morrison, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
I am always looking for healthier cookie recipes for my toddler. This one is great--so glad I found it. It's not a terribly sweet cookie, so the chocolate chips are a perfect addition. Really good and the only problem I'm having is saving some for my son and not eating them all myself! Peanut butter, oatmeal, and carrot sounds like an odd combo, but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I am a young woman with celiac disease who is constantly on the lookout for recipes that are either gluten free or can be easily converted. Thankfully I am able to tolerate oats so I jumped up out of my chair and into the kitchen when I came across this recipe. By replacing the flour with brown rice flour I was able to make these cookies without any other alterations. Not only was it easy and convenient but they are DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
These cookies taste great and you feel somewhat healthy eating them. I used the suggestions of several other reviewers - decreased white sugar to 1/2c and used whole wheat flour. I'd like to try them with raisins and/or cinnamon. My only complaint... I ate too much of the cookie dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have the same recipe from an old childhood neighbor, except she used butterscotch chips instead of the chocolate chips. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Overall, a good cookie. I think it needs a little more flour or oats, the cookie fell apart quite easily. After i made the first batch I added more flour and they turned out much better. Still soft and moist. I also don't recommend cutting the sugar back. I also tried it that way, it tasted more like a biscuit to me. I do plan on making these again! Who knew, carrot in a cookie is pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2000
I have a hard time getting my kids to eat cooked carrots. They eat them up in these cookies .Soft and moist .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
As some have suggested, I used whole wheat flour, added just a bit of cinnamon and vanilla, omitted the chocolate chips and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. They were very tasty and interesting but too moist, they just fell apart. I'm not sure what I did wrong but I might try it again sometime. I thought the peanutbutter flavor is kind of hidden and I'd more likely call these oatmeal carrot cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States