Peanut Butter Candy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
YUM!! Although I mixed dark and semi-sweet chocolate with this recipe, I do not recommend it. BUT it was still the best peanut butter candy recipe I've ever made. The peanut butter mix (w/o the chocolate) tastes like "buckeyes" that one makes at Christmas time. GREAT!! Will make it again and again. To the comment from Lara29: make sure you are using powdered (not regular!)sugar (4 1/2 cups is one box) because the amount is just perfect. Wouldn't change a thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNOUTLOUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Great recipe! I found it better to use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet though. It tastes more like Reese's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This recipe is delicious. We were searching for a substitute for cracker candy because we were out of Saltine Crackers. The first bite was a real treat. As we continued to devour the cookie sheet worth of candy, we discovered that a little sprinkle of salt helped do the trick to improve what it was lacking. We think that perhaps eliminating the margerine in the chocolate topping would enhance the chocolate flavor and reduce the richness of the dessert - more like cracker candy. Make sure you have plenty of water or other non-sweetened beverage available! Lastly, I would give the texture of the peanut butter bottom 5 stars! It definitely had that Reeses' Peanut Buttercup feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Great recipe for peanut butter cup lovers. Instead of meliting the chocolate chips in a saucepan, I just put them in a microwaved them on low. I also took a 1/2 cup of the peanut butter and added it to the chocolate chips. Overall it was a great recipe and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I absolutely loved these, as did everyone I shared them with. I chilled the peanutbutter layer before spreading on the chocolate top to be sure the layers didn't mix. It worked like a charm! Caution - these are rich, so get yourself a nice big glass of ice-cold milk before you eat one...or two....or three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Great tasting and easy! I strongly advise using only 1-2 cups of sugar, 4 cups is way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
OHHHH MY GOODNESS!!!!!! These were SOOOO good, unbelievably easy, a little rich but absolutly fantastic! I didn't change a any thing. Will be a good holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
So good, rich & flat-out yummy! I kept them in the frig & they got better over time. A huge hit with my holiday guests. I followed the recipe exactly & made a 10x15 pan ... next time, I'll halve the recipe unless I'm feeding a crowd. I ground my own graham cracker for crumbs ~ next time, I'll be careful to make sure that all bits are superfine as I had a couple small lumps in my peanut butter layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This was such a fast and easy recipe!I just made it in about 15 minutes. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
A bit too sweet for me, but my coworkers gobbled them up! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States