Peanut Butter Candy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
While I did not use the chocolate icing given in the recipe (I had no chocolate chips in the pantry, so I used a Texas sheet cake frosting recipe instead), I must rate it a 5 given the simplicity of the dessert and the flexibility of the recipe. If I didn't have enough graham crackers, I crushed up Frosted Flakes. I made this 3 times in one weekend for friends and had no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Boy I really don't like to give a negative review, but....this recipe had no flavor. I used exactly what was called for. The peanut butter and chocolate just didn't have any taste. I was expecting a strong pb and chocolate flavor and it was just bland. Very dissappointed after all the great reviews. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have made a similar recipe each Christmas for years, but hated the way the frosting broke when cutting the bars. This frosting recipe worked out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Usually I make a new recipe once or twice. Not this one - I have made it and have been requested to make it over a dozen times! I recommend using natural peanut butter - the coarser consistency makes the peanut butter part more like a peanut butter cup - YUM!!!!!! Also, I only put in about 3 to 3.5 cups of sugar - it is just as sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
I had the same problem with not having enough choc. mixture for the top. I used an 11 x 13 glass dish, and the peanut butter part was really thick! I just doubled the choc. mixture, and it was perfect! I used one cup marg. instead of one and a half, and real chocolate chips. (The other half cup went into the extra choc. mix anyway!) I took it to a family potluck, and everybody loved it! This is a five star recipe with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
These are my favorite bars. I bring them to any holiday party I'm going to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This was yummy, I halved the ingredients and still had a big trayful. As I live in the U.K I could not find grahamn crackers in my local supermarket and weren't really sure what they are, so I used digestive biscuits instead. I was v. impressed with how quick they are to prepare, I completed making the bars in about half hour which included shopping for ingredients. I will definatly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ME100FINN
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
YUM YUM YUM!!! I made a huge 9x13 pan of this and ate almost all of it myself. UGH! I would cut the recipe in half next time for sure. AWESOME -- thanks for giving me my fix on pb&chocolate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Made these bars for Christmas this year and they are so easy and quick to do . My husband and I just love them. Took a tray of goodies to my former co-workers and they all wanted this recipe. They woofed these bars down before anything else on the tray. They are nurses and love goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Super easy.. fast too. I used a 9x13 pan.. used 1/2c less margerine than called for.. I bet you could use even less. I would have preffered more chocolate on top.. I thought they were extremely sweet.. but everyone in the office gobbled them up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States