Peanut Butter Candy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Oh my gosh.. I did about a 1/3 batch (didn't have much peanut butter) and it was glorious after being refrigerated overnight. I omitted the margarine from the topping and just melted chocolate chips. I looooove the peanut butter base! So good, much like a Reese's cup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I also halved the bottom and put it in a 9x9" pan. If I were to make the full recipe, I'd double the chocolate topping. I made half with semi-sweet chocolate, and half with a Cadbury Dream bar (my fiance prefers white chocolate). We both enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIN3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fogo Island, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
YUMMY! i halved the peanut butter mixture and kept the chocolate mixture amount the same, and put it all in a 9 x 9 pan. it turned out great and doesn't make quite so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
2 people have already asked me for the recipe!! This was YUMMY! A great tip is to make a double batch of the chocolate layer and put it on the bottom and the top...I stuck mine in the fridge to make it cool faster...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMACKNKC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This recipe is delicious. We were searching for a substitute for cracker candy because we were out of Saltine Crackers. The first bite was a real treat. As we continued to devour the cookie sheet worth of candy, we discovered that a little sprinkle of salt helped do the trick to improve what it was lacking. We think that perhaps eliminating the margerine in the chocolate topping would enhance the chocolate flavor and reduce the richness of the dessert - more like cracker candy. Make sure you have plenty of water or other non-sweetened beverage available! Lastly, I would give the texture of the peanut butter bottom 5 stars! It definitely had that Reeses' Peanut Buttercup feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This was SOOOOO good ! Very easy to make and makes a lot, I used a cookie sheet to make them alittle thinner cause they are rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
While I did not use the chocolate icing given in the recipe (I had no chocolate chips in the pantry, so I used a Texas sheet cake frosting recipe instead), I must rate it a 5 given the simplicity of the dessert and the flexibility of the recipe. If I didn't have enough graham crackers, I crushed up Frosted Flakes. I made this 3 times in one weekend for friends and had no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Boy I really don't like to give a negative review, but....this recipe had no flavor. I used exactly what was called for. The peanut butter and chocolate just didn't have any taste. I was expecting a strong pb and chocolate flavor and it was just bland. Very dissappointed after all the great reviews. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have made a similar recipe each Christmas for years, but hated the way the frosting broke when cutting the bars. This frosting recipe worked out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Usually I make a new recipe once or twice. Not this one - I have made it and have been requested to make it over a dozen times! I recommend using natural peanut butter - the coarser consistency makes the peanut butter part more like a peanut butter cup - YUM!!!!!! Also, I only put in about 3 to 3.5 cups of sugar - it is just as sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States