Peanut Butter Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
My daughter made several cakes for the county fair, and this was one of them. She made it in a tube pan and increased the baking time (I think about 50 minutes?). She won a blue ribbon and class champion for Jr. Specialty Cakes, so I would say that's a pretty good recipe. She "taste-tested" one on my coworkers before we make the "good" one for the fair, and everyone loved it. Her grandmother says it froze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
YUM! i cut this recipe in half and baked it in an 8X8 pan, but i'm sorry i did b/c i hardly ended up having since my family gobbled it all up. i added some chopped bittersweet chocolate i had lying around to the struesel topping and some vanilla to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Holy cow was this recipe ever awesome!! The cake came out moist and tastey. I added chocolate chips to the streusel topping. I think next time I make it I will try it without the streusel and just ice it. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Xyanne
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This cake was actually the first cake I've ever made from scratch, and I was quite impressed with the results. I did, however, change a few things. I made this cake in two 9 in. round pans instead of in a rectangular pan. Because of this, I baked it at 350 degrees for 20 min. instead of 375 for 30 min. I also added a tablespoon of vanilla to the batter. Like another poster stated, the streusel was much more like cookie dough than crumbly streusel. I had to add it by hand so that I could make sure it was broken up into pieces. I reserved some of the streusel mixture so that I could spread it around the sides after the cake was done. I'm happy I did, because after baking, the streusel on top of the cake looked beautiful, but almost blended in with the flavor of the rest of the cake. Next time, I think I'll do what other posters did and cook the streusel on the stove top and add it to the cake after it's done baking or go with some chocolate frosting as I can see how chocolate frosting could probably bring this cake together nicely. As for the moistness of the cake, mine came out odd, where it seemed like a mixture of moist and dry. It would seem moist when I first put it in my mouth, but dry after it sat in my mouth for a while. My husband said it was more moist than dry, but he's a cookie lover, so anything moister than a cookie, he'd probably call moist :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this cake yesterday and it turned out moist and fluffy. I did a couple of things different; cream the sugar with the butter and peanut butter, instead of mixing the sugar with the flour mixture. It made for even mixing. Also be sure to mix the wet ingredients well before adding to dry mixture. I also didn't use the streusal topping, just made a simple chocolate frosting instead. I like this cake because it was so fluffy and wasn't too rich, just the perfect amount of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was Ok. Seems like it was missing something. It looked pretty and was moist; just lacked flavor...and I'm a peanut butter lover. Not what I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
The recipe was certainly simple enough, but that is the only thing it has going for it. I am a huge peanut butter fan, but this recipe was lacking for something. It came out like a very large, dry peanut butter cookie. I was very disappointed in this recipe and will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This cake was AMAZING. I made it for my grandfather's birthday because I know he likes peanut butter pie. The only thing I did different was add chocolate chips on the top, and it was delicious. I did have to bake it about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe suggested. The cake was very moist and not too much peanut butter state, which was great b/c I generally hate a strong peanut butter taste. My family LOVED this recipe, especially my boyfriend who's hard to please with cake recipes! :) I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This cake is so yummy. I actually used it in the center of a peanut butter and chocolate ganache cake. It turned out wonderful and is perfect without any kind of frosting. The streusel makes it extra good. I never thought a peanut butter cake could be this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Well, what can I say, this IS the fluffiest and most moist cake that I have ever baked. I did not use all the strousel topping, I just baked it seperately on a frying pan, and ended up with a nice soft sweet thing. I over-baked the cake a bit (35 mins) it caused some of the strousels on the top to burn. I removed the burned strousels by hand, and no problem. My mom and Dad loved it. I used normal white sugar instead of brown sugar, and crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy peanut butter, and no problem at all. Thanks for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States