Peanut Butter Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Xyanne
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This cake was actually the first cake I've ever made from scratch, and I was quite impressed with the results. I did, however, change a few things. I made this cake in two 9 in. round pans instead of in a rectangular pan. Because of this, I baked it at 350 degrees for 20 min. instead of 375 for 30 min. I also added a tablespoon of vanilla to the batter. Like another poster stated, the streusel was much more like cookie dough than crumbly streusel. I had to add it by hand so that I could make sure it was broken up into pieces. I reserved some of the streusel mixture so that I could spread it around the sides after the cake was done. I'm happy I did, because after baking, the streusel on top of the cake looked beautiful, but almost blended in with the flavor of the rest of the cake. Next time, I think I'll do what other posters did and cook the streusel on the stove top and add it to the cake after it's done baking or go with some chocolate frosting as I can see how chocolate frosting could probably bring this cake together nicely. As for the moistness of the cake, mine came out odd, where it seemed like a mixture of moist and dry. It would seem moist when I first put it in my mouth, but dry after it sat in my mouth for a while. My husband said it was more moist than dry, but he's a cookie lover, so anything moister than a cookie, he'd probably call moist :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I was a bit hesitant to try this cake...it seemed like half of the reviews said how moist and fluffy it is and the other half said it was much to dry. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but mine was very dry!! One thing that was good, I iced it with chocolate icing as another reviewer suggested. It was like a yummy reece cup! Oh well..I won't be making it again. I'm giving it three stars because the dryness must have been something I did wrong, but I followed the instructions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was actually the first cake that came out really baked from my new oven :-) I do not like the taste of peanut butter (it is sort of salty and sweet at the same time...), but this cake was wonderful. It was moist and very, very rich. I used white sugar instead of brown. It was alright even after a week in the fridge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zlín, Zlínský Kra, Czech Republic
Living In: Brno, Jihomoravský Kraj, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
too dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This cake was AMAZING. I made it for my grandfather's birthday because I know he likes peanut butter pie. The only thing I did different was add chocolate chips on the top, and it was delicious. I did have to bake it about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe suggested. The cake was very moist and not too much peanut butter state, which was great b/c I generally hate a strong peanut butter taste. My family LOVED this recipe, especially my boyfriend who's hard to please with cake recipes! :) I will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
A little dry but tasty. I drizzled hot fudge sauce and peanut butter ice cream topping to make more elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Dry, dry, dry.......I threw out the whole cake. Yes it did have a good taste but not worth eating because it was so darn dry. I do not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong but it was dry. The flavor was wonderful though. The strudel is a nice addtion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This cake is so yummy. I actually used it in the center of a peanut butter and chocolate ganache cake. It turned out wonderful and is perfect without any kind of frosting. The streusel makes it extra good. I never thought a peanut butter cake could be this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Well, what can I say, this IS the fluffiest and most moist cake that I have ever baked. I did not use all the strousel topping, I just baked it seperately on a frying pan, and ended up with a nice soft sweet thing. I over-baked the cake a bit (35 mins) it caused some of the strousels on the top to burn. I removed the burned strousels by hand, and no problem. My mom and Dad loved it. I used normal white sugar instead of brown sugar, and crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy peanut butter, and no problem at all. Thanks for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States