Peanut Butter Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This recipe is exactly like granny used to make...it is perfect. I read some of the other reviews and agree that modifications chsnge the cake, if you want light and fluffy You will need to change, but it is definitely not horrible, it is exactly what i grew up with...yum yum...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I chose this particular recipe because of the added oil. I know that peanut butter cake has a tendency to be dry. The oil did produce a moist cake however, this recipe has some problems. First of all, this is a recipe that produces TWO 9 inch round pans. If I had used all that batter for an 8 inch pan I would have had a major mess. Secondly, I added 2 additional tablespoons of peanut butter for more peanut flavor. I also decreased the vanilla and only used 2 teaspoons. The batter was incredibly thin so I also added another 1/2 cup flour. I was pleased with the final product but it certainly took innovation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
we loved it!!....warm with chocolate syrup drizzled over the top ... Oh my Goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
this was by far the best cake I ever made I got a new job as a baker and the kitchen mgr wanted a peanut butter cake I did add a box of butter pound cake mixture with it only to make the cake bigger and it was supper big and taste just meltin you month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
very good, I added both creamy and crunchy peanutbutter to the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This cake was very good. I was impressed with the outcome, a moist and delicious sweet cake. I thought that with the amount of sugar, it would be too sweet, but it proved me wrong. Although I doubled the amount of peanut butter, the recipe worked perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I made this cake by the recipe except I used 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of the 2 tbps as shown in the recipe. I also did not put in a 8X8 pan. I used 4 round cake pans to make the layers thin. I cut the cooking time and made sure to remove before overcooked. The frosting took more milk to make it the consistency more to my liking. This made a very good cake after these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
as written, I don't think this cake would have had much peanut butter flavor at all. I took others' suggestions and doubled the peanut butter. I also found the batter quite runny, as in a previous review, so added 1/2 c extra flour. maybe I should have added more oil too.. because this cake turned our really dry and crumbly. I used some chocolate chips also & baked in a bundt pan. I did do a peanut butter glaze, and melty chocolate for some color & added flavor - without the glaze, this cake would have been inedible. I was very disappointed, as it was a birthday cake for one of my best friends - and now I owe him another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I found this cake to be very bland. It was nothing special to say the least. I doubled the peanut butter in the cake, however, I could still just barely taste it! Perhaps it was so bland because I didn't make the glaze. In general, my family finds that frosting or glaze overwhelms a dessert and makes it too sweet, but perhaps with this cake, the glaze is just what it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
With many modifications, it turned out fabulously. but it would have been horrible if I hadn't changed so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States