Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LADYHEN
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
YUM YUM YUM! I made this cake yesterday for my husband's birthday. I made a couple of unintentional changes - I put a whole cup of butter in the cake and I put a whole cup of butter in the frosting (apparently I momentarily forgot that ONE stick is half a cup!) I also increased the peanutbutter in the frosting to 1.5 cups and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the frosting. I topped with chopped Reese's PB Cups and chopped peanuts and drizzled hot fudge around the edge. The frosting was perfect - not too sweet and very peanutbuttery. The cake was moist and very tasty. I used a butter recipe yellow cake mix. I highly recommend this recipe! I almost passed it by because the photo displayed shows a chocolate ganache frosting and my husband doesn't care for chocolate that much. I'm glad it is actually a peanutbutter frosting. Hubby is a peanutbutter FANATIC and this recipe is a keeper! (I submitted a picture, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was very disappointing. While the peanut butter flavor in the cake is spot on, unfortunately so is the flavor that announces, "boxed cake mix." In addition, this is a heavy, greasy cake, not surprising since the recipe calls for twice the fat as normally called for in a boxed mix or traditional 2-layer cake. I didn't care for the frosting--again, heavy and greasy--about 1/2 c. too much fat, whether it's the peanut butter or the butter. It also requires quite a bit more than than the 1/3 c. cream called for to get it to even resemble a frosting rather than a fudge consistency. I decorated the cake beautifully with chopped peanuts along the side and a drizzle of melted chocolate over the top but even as I was doing that I knew it was a waste of time. I should have trusted my gut. All told, between the cake itself and the frosting, there is a total of 3/4 cup more fat (butter or peanut butter) than should be in a cake this size that resulted in a heavy, greasy glob (particularly the frosting). I'm not even done cleaning up and the cake is already gone--with the egg shells, butter wrapper and cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This cake was sold at auction for $120! Keep the recipe just like it is; DON'T CHANGE A THING. When I reduced butter to 1/4 C in icing, it wasn't creamy. Add full 1/2 C as recipe calls for in icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
There was a family when we attended the sports banquets in high school that made this cake, they always brought one for the public and one for themselves, they guarded the recipe with their lives! My dad, a huge penut butter fan always loved it, I came across this recipe last year and decided to try it for his birthday! It's the exact same recipe! He loved it, I love it, I've made it for several picnics and there is never any left over. I am not gaurding the recipe however! Try this, you'll be happy. Quick note, make sure the cake is completely cooled before frosting, otherwise it falls aparts quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Amazing. That's all I can say. Everyone went crazy over this cake...literally. I was making the frosting, look over at my cooling cakes and there is my four year old chowing down on it...about 1/4 of my bottom layer was gone...so you know he loved it. Then I serve it up for my dad and cousin's birthdays and it was seriously a feeding frenzy. My two teenage brothers were actually fighting over who got to have seconds. My husband said it is the best cake he's ever had. I love it because it's a very versatile cake, you can play around with it a lot. I made the cake exactly as the recipe tells because it was my first time making it (other than the frosting...I ended up adding a lot more cream to get the right consistancy), but next time I may play around with it a bit and maybe put a strawberry jelly layer in the middle and have a peanut butter and jelly cake or put chocolate in the middle. There's a lot you can do with it. This is undoubtedly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it. We found that the cake is even better refridgerated over night. We will be making this cake again real soon!!!!..........It's been a couple of years since I wrote this review however...I have more request for this cake it is unreal...It has become my signature dish at parties- and I don't add anything to the recipe-(other than a little more heavey cream if needed).You should try this as is it's AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This yeilded a perfect texture cake. However, I thought that I could taste the yellow butter flavor from the cake mix more than I would have liked. Next time I think I would use a white cake mix as a base. The frosting was much too sweet. I ended up adding 2tbsp. cocoa powder to tone down the sweetness, which helped, but next time I would use a different frosting all-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I didn't really care for the overwhelming peanut butter flavor in this cake. Maybe with chocolate frosting it would be a little more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I really like peanut butter, so this was excellent! The icing tastes like whipped peanut butter fudge. I am keeping this recipe to hand down to my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWENSONL
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Very good. My husband had been asking for peanut butter cake for several year and I finally came here to find one. I used shavings of Hershey's Peanut butter filled choclate bars on the top and surrounded it with Peanut Butter M & M's and it was a hit. I also used 4 oz of cream cheese with the frosting just because I love cream cheese in my frosting. Thanks for the terrific recipe. Great with some ice cream. They put my picture on the recipe. Too Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States