Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
This cake is very tasty. The icing is very peanut buttery tasting and VERY rich. I would make a little less icing next time. I put strawberry jam between the layers which we thought added a nice taste. I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
This was delicious!!! I took the cake to a church luncheon and had only one piece left. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it. We found that the cake is even better refridgerated over night. We will be making this cake again real soon!!!!..........It's been a couple of years since I wrote this review however...I have more request for this cake it is unreal...It has become my signature dish at parties- and I don't add anything to the recipe-(other than a little more heavey cream if needed).You should try this as is it's AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! This recipe, with 5 ingredients and a few easy steps, made my first peanut butter cake a hit! I would recommend this recipe for any occasion... it is a perfect dessert to complement any meal. It is great for special occasions too! Thanks Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
There was a family when we attended the sports banquets in high school that made this cake, they always brought one for the public and one for themselves, they guarded the recipe with their lives! My dad, a huge penut butter fan always loved it, I came across this recipe last year and decided to try it for his birthday! It's the exact same recipe! He loved it, I love it, I've made it for several picnics and there is never any left over. I am not gaurding the recipe however! Try this, you'll be happy. Quick note, make sure the cake is completely cooled before frosting, otherwise it falls aparts quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Made it for a friend who loves peanut butter. She loved the cake so much she had it for breakfast the following morning. I put fudge frosting between layers and added chocolate chips to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This is a very good recipe and it's quick and easy. Which is always great. My coworkers loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This recipe is very good however I made a few changes to icing. I used a store bought cream cheese icing to which I added 1 cup peanut butter and 2 TBS milk. It made a very nice, but not too sweet, topping to a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
The cake itself did not taste very peanut buttery. I used store-bought chocolate frosting. Perhaps if I had made the suggested peanut butter frosting that came with this recipe it would have made a difference. Personally, if I were to make this cake in the future, I would just forget about adding the peanut butter to the cake and just go ahead and make a yellow cake topped with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This yeilded a perfect texture cake. However, I thought that I could taste the yellow butter flavor from the cake mix more than I would have liked. Next time I think I would use a white cake mix as a base. The frosting was much too sweet. I ended up adding 2tbsp. cocoa powder to tone down the sweetness, which helped, but next time I would use a different frosting all-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States