Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by vettegirlrph
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My guy hates chocolate but LOVES PB, so this recipe was a no brainer.. It wasn't too peanutbuttery and the cake was super moist.. I didn't tweak any of the ingredients except for extra cream for the icing. The icing was too difficult to spread with what the recipe called for, so I just added as I was blending until it was the right consistency... I also added chopped PB cups and reeses pieces to make it fun.. The cake was a hit and will definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vettegirlrph
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made it for my husbands birthday cake, he's been asking for a peanut butter cake for years! I read some reviews saying it was dry ..but they must've done something wrong because this is an incredibly moist cake, gosh with all those eggs and the oil from the peanut butter, how can it not be moist? We baked ours in a 13x9 pan for 35 minutes. As for the frosting, we used only about half the sugar and enough milk to make it more of a glaze than a frosting. Very good ..VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My husband loved it, and he is a peanut butter LOVER. I wasn't nearly as impressed. It was too much for me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsEmilyAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I thought the cake was very dry. Some people liked it but I think they didn't want to hurt my feelings. They raved at the "Too much chocolate cake" I made from this site. This peanut butter cake was not worth the calories. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My boyfriend loves peanut butter anything, so I had to try this cake. He liked it, but I thought the cake part was really dry. I have been cooking for 30+ years so I'm pretty sure it wasn't that I overcooked the cake or anything like that. I think perhaps oil added to the cake mix would have made it more moist. The frosting is really good, I wouldn't change that at all. I melted dark chocolate with butter and drizzled it across the top of the cake, that worked out ok. I would have given this 4 stars but the cake was so dry that it seemed a mediocre recipe to me. I mean it's good for sure, but not great. Maybe I will try it again with some variations. Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
FABULOUS! I made this last week for a birthday, and everyone raved! The only difference was that I added an extra 1/3 cup of water, and a half box of jello vanilla pudding mix. It was Great and not dry at all! MUST crumble reeses cups on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I never heard of Peanut Butter cake but this one is GREAT everyone at my work beg for me to bake this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I love this cake. I'm a peanut butter junkie! Very light and fluffy, has a rich taste...I decorated mine with Reese's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misspeanut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This cake was pretty good! I made cupcakes out of it and put a frozen Hersheys Kiss in the middle, the result was a cupcake that tasted just like my favorite peanut butter/kiss cookies. The cake turned out super moist, but not too peanuty. I also made the frosting which may have been over kill. The frosting (for me) was too sweet, but everyone I served them to loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I made 21 cupcakes in ungreased liners, baked at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. To simplify, I bought a 16 oz jar of honey peanut butter and measured out 1/2 cup for the cake. I used the rest of the jar in the frosting as well as a 1 pound box of powdered sugar (run through a fine strainer) and 8 Tablespoons of cream. This is very close to the measurements in the recipe and turned out great. I piped the frosting on top of cooled cupcakes and stuck a mini Nutter Butter on some, crushed Reese's pieces on some, and peanut butter cups cut into fourths on the rest. These were lots of fun for a family birthday, I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States