Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was an okay cake. Not fabulous. The icing was quite sticky and hard to work with. The cake was dry. It did have a nice peanut butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wyndsongwolf11
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this cake, which was perfect for my dog's 1st birthday party (along w/ our going away party). I used a 9x13 cake pan. Ended up dividing it in 1/2. the 1/2 I made into a dog paw & did just the cake & frosting. the other 1/2 I made into an ice cream cake. I used 3/4 carton of Reese's ice cream, slightly melted & spread it over top. Put in freezer til firm. Took it out then frosted it with remaining frosting (left over from the other portion of cake). EVERYONE LOVED IT -- whether they had the ice cream portion or the plain cake. So many people asked for the recipe. I did add 1/2 bag of PB chips to the batter. :) For the dogs, we made homemade dog ice cream & the people of course had reeses! YUMMY! I'm a PB LOVER & this was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyndsongwolf11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i have been making this cake for years my husband just loves it thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Was not my thing, but it might be yours. The cake turned out well. I followed the recipe exactly except for using milk instead of cream. I could see how some would think this cake is excellent. The taste just wasn't as great as I hoped. I won't make it again unless requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pentacleprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vettegirlrph
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My guy hates chocolate but LOVES PB, so this recipe was a no brainer.. It wasn't too peanutbuttery and the cake was super moist.. I didn't tweak any of the ingredients except for extra cream for the icing. The icing was too difficult to spread with what the recipe called for, so I just added as I was blending until it was the right consistency... I also added chopped PB cups and reeses pieces to make it fun.. The cake was a hit and will definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vettegirlrph
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made it for my husbands birthday cake, he's been asking for a peanut butter cake for years! I read some reviews saying it was dry ..but they must've done something wrong because this is an incredibly moist cake, gosh with all those eggs and the oil from the peanut butter, how can it not be moist? We baked ours in a 13x9 pan for 35 minutes. As for the frosting, we used only about half the sugar and enough milk to make it more of a glaze than a frosting. Very good ..VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My husband loved it, and he is a peanut butter LOVER. I wasn't nearly as impressed. It was too much for me. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsEmilyAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I thought the cake was very dry. Some people liked it but I think they didn't want to hurt my feelings. They raved at the "Too much chocolate cake" I made from this site. This peanut butter cake was not worth the calories. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My boyfriend loves peanut butter anything, so I had to try this cake. He liked it, but I thought the cake part was really dry. I have been cooking for 30+ years so I'm pretty sure it wasn't that I overcooked the cake or anything like that. I think perhaps oil added to the cake mix would have made it more moist. The frosting is really good, I wouldn't change that at all. I melted dark chocolate with butter and drizzled it across the top of the cake, that worked out ok. I would have given this 4 stars but the cake was so dry that it seemed a mediocre recipe to me. I mean it's good for sure, but not great. Maybe I will try it again with some variations. Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
FABULOUS! I made this last week for a birthday, and everyone raved! The only difference was that I added an extra 1/3 cup of water, and a half box of jello vanilla pudding mix. It was Great and not dry at all! MUST crumble reeses cups on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States