Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This makes an excellent cake. To make from scratch, substitute 3 cups cake flour, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 3/4 tsp salt, 4 tsp baking powder, and 2 1/4 tsp vanilla for the box mix. Add the vanilla with the wet ingredients and mix the dry ingredients together before incorporating. Don't forget to add the water! I also created an extraordinary peanut butter buttercream to go along with this cake. The base is a classic french buttercream, to which 3/4 cup of peanut butter is added. The buttercream is made as follows: Soften 2 cups (4 sticks) of unsalted butter, either by letting sit at room temperature for several hours or microwaving on defrost setting until softened. Place 6 egg yolks in a bowl and beat until thick and lemon-colored. Combine 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water in a small pan. Heat on medium, stirring, until sugar dissolves and mixture begins to bubble. Stop stirring immediately and continue to heat until a candy thermometer registers 240 F. The mixture will be thick and gooey. Immediately pour over the yolks with beaters running. Beat until room temperature. Add the softened butter and beat until mixture is the consistency of whipped butter. To this add 3/4 cup peanut butter and beat again until the consistency of whipped butter. This could take up to 5 minutes on high setting. Another delicious variation is a hazelnut butter cake. I ordered Dundee Orchards creamy hazelnut butter from amazon. Substitute it for the peanut butter in the batter and buttercream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvz2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Husband loved it for his Birthday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
The whole family loved this cake. I used extra PB in the cake and frosting. Drizzled with hot fudge and crushed PB cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I doubled the recipe and made a 2 layer cake and 24 cupcakes. I put reese cups inside half of the cupcakes. Every person who tried any of it absolutely raved about it! I will be making this again very soon. The only thing I did differently was add more heavy cream to make the frosting spreadable. My dad said the frosting was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gardendale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I have made this several time I put grape jelly in the middle and then frosted it. Mine and my husbands co-worker's loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Well, I did not find the cake very good at all. It was a little dry with not much peanut butter flavor. The frosting, with more cream added, was good though--sweet--but good. I may use the frosting on a chocolate cake sometime, but I think I would prefer a bit less sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
When I looked at the reviews for this recipe, I ALMOST didn't make it based on the critical one star review. I am SO glad I didn't allow that to keep me from this cake...it has a bold peanut butter flavor and is dense and moist..it has become one of my most requested recipes...honestly, it's a cake..not health food..so yep..that does mean fat will be there..if I wanted wheat germ & oatmeal, I wouldn't be making a cake...just sayin... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MLK
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Oh my gosh! This was heaven! I used chocolate cake instead of the butter cake, it was just like a Reese's peanut butter cup! Wonderful!!! Asides from using chocolate cake I didn't change a thing. I decorated it with peanut butter cups and chocolate sauce. It was pretty and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Was looking for a quick cake to make for my sister's birthday who is a peanut butter fanatic and I didn't have time to go to the store. This got rave reviews and I'm told it was perfectly rich with a glass of milk. I made a 2 layer cake and topped with the peanut butter frosting along with chocolate ganache and peanut butter cups. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Disappointment! The flavor was okay, but I couldn't get over the severe dryness of the cake. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I will not make this cake again. On a good note, the frosting was really good. Nice texture. Smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States