Peanut Butter Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Made today - I really liked it but the boyfriend said it didn't taste peanut-buttery enough for him. Definitely doesn't scream peanuts but still very good. I used crunchy peanut butter and enjoyed the "surprise" each time I got one of the nut pieces in a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was good, nothing fantastic. I used bread flour and amaranth and it came out in a nice consistency and very moist. I rounded my measure of peanut butter after reading the reviews. This bread sliced very easily. It was firm enough that I could slice thin slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BestUCanBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
?My children LOVED this for PBJ sandwiches. It was very easy to cut the following day. I did use the flour the recipe recommended, wondered if it would be less dense with Bread Flour. The loaf did rise to the top on my 2" pan, and did burn a little along the top edge, but we ate it all. I will use my next loaf for PBJ Bread Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArecaPalm
Home Town: De Soto, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Okay, this is the first low rating I've given. I wasn't too impressed with this bread. After it came out of the bread machine it was really really moist, not at all normal bread consistency. I waited to see if it would be better the next day and it was, it was more firm; however, I was still not impressed with the taste. PLEASE!! don't toss this recipe aside until you've tried it yourself though. Just because someone gives a low rating doesn't mean it's a bad recipe and no good. Everyone has their own likes and dislikes. What I like you may not like, and what you like I may not like. We all have our different tastes; this bread just didn't tickle my taste buds. Other's really enjoyed it, so try it. You have nothing to lose. If you like it then you have a great new recipe. If not, then you won't be missing out on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was pretty good! I followed the recipe exactly. It smelled great while baking. The peanut butter flavor is mild. I think I would make this again but I would try out other peanut butter breads first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
rhis sounds great but I wish a non-bread machine suggestion was added....If anyone can figure it out please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Yummy but not as sweet or peanut-buttery as I expected. I made this in my mixer instead of in the bread machine. I agree with the previous review that this dough is excellent to work with - so smooth and not at all sticky! Made a 9x5 loaf as well as a nice sized round loaf. Good toasted with some jelly on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I made this bread by hand and it has to be one of the smoothest, easiest to work with doughs I've ever made. It's silky smooth, and makes a delicious soft crusted loaf. I'm a huge fan of all things peanut butter and chocolate, so I rolled the dough out flat and spread a mixture of 2T cocoa and 3T sugar plus about 1/3c of coarsely chopped semisweet chocolate over the top. I rolled it and cut it in half and placed the dough in 2 loaf pans with the seam side down and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Once it cooled it tasted and looked amazing with an awesome flakey and light texture. The PB wasn't noticeable at first (even though I added a full cup instead of the 2/3) but as it cooled it was more pronounced. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This one is a good bread, with a whole wheat bread consistency and a light peanut butter taste. Even though the amount of yeast seems huge, it is necessary and despite of the 3 1/2 tsp, the bread is still dense (which does not mean "heavy"!!!). It can be baked in a 1 1/2 lb bread machine, for it doesn't rise really high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Good bread, very easy to make, but not as peanut buttery as I thought it would be. It smelled incredible while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States