Peanut Butter Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Excellent bread! Was great toasted! The only changes were made for my tastes, only used 1 tsp. salt and 3 tsp. yeast. Still a high, light loaf. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I made this bread by hand and it has to be one of the smoothest, easiest to work with doughs I've ever made. It's silky smooth, and makes a delicious soft crusted loaf. I'm a huge fan of all things peanut butter and chocolate, so I rolled the dough out flat and spread a mixture of 2T cocoa and 3T sugar plus about 1/3c of coarsely chopped semisweet chocolate over the top. I rolled it and cut it in half and placed the dough in 2 loaf pans with the seam side down and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Once it cooled it tasted and looked amazing with an awesome flakey and light texture. The PB wasn't noticeable at first (even though I added a full cup instead of the 2/3) but as it cooled it was more pronounced. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
This bread was great. My kids loved it with a little bit of jelly. I thought it was good with just butter and warmed up. Great for a snack for those hungry kids. Cetan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
this was a marvelous recipe...the kids loved it! I thought that it would be heavy - but it turned out light and delicious! Thanks Jenny!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I won first prize with this recipe at the International Invitational Open Peanut Butter Cookie Kite Fly and Bake Off. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
At first I thought "ok, this will be dull and you won't be able to taste the p.b." But today i decided to give it a try, and boy was i wrong--this is great!! So moist and all you need is butter, if that. My hubby who isn't into trying new foods very often was outside so i went out and stuck a piece in his mouth while his hands were full, and he loved it!! He then came in and asked if he could take some to work for his buddy to try!! Thats all i needed to hear--I'll be making again. Beautiful bread, nice texture, moist, pretty color and lots of p.b.taste, and i used generic p.b. i buy for baking. Big kids like this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is delicious and a staple at my house and I don't even like peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Not bad. I often use the bread machine to make the dough only, then I will shape it and let it rise then bake in the oven. Bread machines tend to make white bread the best, and since this has a heavy ingredient (in the form of peanut butter), it may not always work in the bread machine. regardless, I didn't try it there--made the dough, shaped into rolls and let rise for 20 mins, then baked at 375 for about 15-16 minutes. Oh, and I used 1 cup of pb instead of the 2/3 called for. This dough makes lovely, soft rolls. If you use crunchy pb like I did, you get a mild peanuty taste with a bit of a crunch. I really like how the rolls turned out. for those of you who want to convert to a recipe by hand, check out the Allrecipes article Bread Machine Baking: Tips for Experimenting. I'd post the link but I did before and AR deleted it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States