Peanut Butter Bon-Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
My kids make sure that I make these every year for Christmas, however, my measurements are slightly different. I only use 1/2 cup butter, 4 cups powdered sugar and I use about 4 1/2 cups rice krispies. It's good with either creamy or crunchy pb. The mixture should be moist enough that it holds together when you shape them into balls. If it seems a bit dry you can melt a little additional peanut butter and add till it's right. After rolling into balls I place them on a wax paper lined cookie sheets to chill. I melt 1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 bag of butterscotch chips in separate double boilers and do half in each. Then it's back on to the wax paper and into the fridge for about an hour. Once they are chilled, you can remove them from the cookie sheets to tupperware for storage in the fridge. They are very sweet and rich but my kids just absolutely love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I have this exact recipe. I make it every year for Christmas (it's tradition in my family). My family calls them Buck Eye cookies, even though they are completely covered with chocolate and have rice crispies in them where as many buckeye recipes do not. Try this, you will love the crunch the rice crispies give and you can modify this recipe for more peanut butter or less sugar or whatever your desire is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIA_26

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made these for my brother and I ended up making 'logs' out of them. we had a GREAT laugh out of them as they looked a lot like dog turds- thats only how I made them thr first time. Next time around I made regualr balls. But man alive are they good! They freeze really well too and are great room temp or chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These taste pretty great. That being said, I made the biggest mess ever making them & I used 10 squares of chocolate & still had nowhere near enough to cover them all. That was ok though, because they are honestly very rich when completely covered w/chocolate & I personally found them just as tasty if not more so without it. A plus was that my 3-yr-old could help by sticking the toothpicks for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
this is the best recipe for teenagers and kids. Im 14 and i can make these. super easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Kind of like eating a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup, but better! The crisped rice adds a good change of texture from the pb & powdered sugar. Kids love it because of the hands on action.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good. A little messy to make. I also had trouble with not enough chocolate as the recipe says. I used about a cup more of semi-sweet chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I cut this recipe to 33 servings, 100 seemed like i could get addicted! Pretty yummy, however it was a HUGE mess - pb everywhere.. splattered with chocolate. Also, not enough chocolate listed to cover balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAXSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made mine a bit big though...it didn't seem that way until after dipping them in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I found this recipe easy to follow but my first attempt didn't turn out. My 2nd however was much better. I changed a few things my second go around. 1st i didn't even bother measuring the peanut butter i just used 1 small jar to a stick and a half of butter. Melt slowly or you will burn it. 4 cups of sugar is alot i only used about 2 cups and i cut the rice crispies down to to about 2 1/2 cups. All in all tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States