Peanut Butter Bars VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Wonderful!! I wish I had read the reviews first, because I, too, found that the recipe didn't make enough for a 13x9x2" pan. Next time, I will add another cup of cornflakes (4 total), and press into a 9" pan. Thanks for the recipe!! -- I just made these for the 2nd time. I used a 9" pan (worked much better!), and added 4 cups cornflakes instead of 3. The bars fell apart and were hard to cut because there wasn't enough peanut butter mixture to hold them together. Stick with the original recipe, using a 9" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Very easy and super yummy!!!! You might have to make two batches right away because they are soooo addicting. I love peanut butter so i put in a little more then a cup, it helps the bars stick together better. Also i have made this a number of times and each time i have used a different cereal. They all work the same i would just recommend that it is a plain cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
I use to make this when I was a kid we called them clue cookies?? My kids now enjoy them too. For chocolate & peanut butter lovers. Try adding 1/4c extra corn syrup, plus 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I poured about 1/2 cup melted chocolate over the top and spread it smooth. It was delicious and held the bars together a little better! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Valley, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very good. I used Special K vanilia & almonds instead of corn flakes. I just did a light crushing of the cereal. These were very good, but are actually more of a candy than a cookie. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I found a similar recipe many years ago, in my son's, school, reading book. It was a mystery story and they were called, "Clue Cookies." (seems more a candy, I think) They actually gave the recipe and I just had to make them. (they were made using 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of white corn syrup, instead of the brown sugar) I will definitely try this version, though. Today, they are still a favorite of my kids and now my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Really good and super easy to make. Next time I may add some chocolate chips or drizzle with chocolate like other reviewers said. Make sure you really squish down the mixture when putting it into your pan, that way it will hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These are really great if you're looking for a quick, easy treat. They are addicting though so beware! I am a marshmallow addict, so I threw in a few handfuls of mini marshmallows after everything else was all mixed together, and I doubled the recipe so it would fit well into a 13x9. The whole family loved them! They're great chilled in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
My family absolutely love these. We crushed 4 cups of cornflakes and it worked out great! Used a 9x9 pan for thicker bars. To dress them up, top with melted chocolate chips or melted canned chocolate fudge frosting....yummy! These are the best Dawn, thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
YUM! I think I may have messed it up a little, too many corn flakes or something because it didn't hold together as well as I'd like but it was still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Graham

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States