Peanut Butter Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I give these a 4 for just the recipe, but I'd give them a 5 with my modifications. The bar part was really good, very peanut-buttery. I left out the chocolate chips in the dough, but I did sprinkle some on top to melt and spread once I took it out of the oven. After it cooled, I made a frosting of peanut butter, powdered sugar, a little milk and a little butter. I spread that on top, then drizzled with more melted chocolate chips. The result was heaven! This recipe made a great base, but with the frosting and melted chocolate it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
What can I say but... This is one recipe that has become a family favorite. I LOVE LOVE LOVED this tasty treat. I didnt find the dough stiff. I just used a hand mixer and it was very creamy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
These are delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, softening the butter and peanut butter in the microwave before adding the sugars and vanilla. These bars have a chewy, moist consistency, much like a brownie. I did leave out the chocolate chips, since we're not big chocolate fans, and I frosted with cream-cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These were very easy to mix up and bake. They came out chewy, like a brownie but a little denser, and extremely peanutty. I think the texture might be affected by what kind of peanut butter you use. I used old-fashioned creamy, the kind you stir. They would probably come out different with shelf-stable peanut butter, maybe more dry. The chocolate chip "frosting" is a good idea--it was super-easy and adds a great touch. I used a fancier kind of chips (extra-dark chocolate, these are for a gift) and they taste just fabulous. My husband is already bugging me to make us our own batch! But I'm not going to, because the only down side with these is the total calories. Yikes! Special occasions only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
These are so wonderful!! I doubled the batch for a church BBQ and baked on a cookie sheet for 25 minutes. I tasted one slightly warm with the chocolate still warm, I am going to have a hard time giving them away. They are the best peanut butter bars I have ever had. Seriously my eyes crossed a little bit with the first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Wait a day, then rate these bars. They were WAY better the next day! Changes made: spelt flour in place of wheat. I also used Skippy Natural Creamy Peanut butter (perhaps a "rounded" cup of it). They are very peanutbuttery; exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I was pretty disappointed in this recipe. Very dry (too little butter too much egg??). I don't know it was just weird. I didn't have choc. chips so made without, but don't think that effected it that much. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My husband went nuts over these bars! I followed the recipe exactly the first time and he and a friend went through the entire pan in a day and a half. I agree with other reviews that the peanut butter flavor could have been stronger, but when I made them a second time, I used MILK chocolate instead of semi-sweet and it really made a difference. These are a new staple around our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These bars were very good and rich. It was a nice change from the same old desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Very easy recipe. They never last long. They're great without the chocolate too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States