Peanut Butter Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
These were very easy to make, but I think next time I may try using milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. I think the semi-sweet, overpowered the bar and I really could not taste all the peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
almost perfect but not quite. next time, i will add either another 1/4 cup of brown sugar or some honey. since i made these for my husband, i left out the chocolate (he's not a fan), but i'm sure they would be a nice touch. we've been looking for a great peanut butter bar recipe; with some adjustments, this may be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was so super easy and quick to make. Once it came out of the oven, I poured the rest of the choc chips and a bag of pb chips, let them melt and then spread it out like a frosting. The kids came running!! Thanks for making smiles.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These were very easy to mix up and bake. They came out chewy, like a brownie but a little denser, and extremely peanutty. I think the texture might be affected by what kind of peanut butter you use. I used old-fashioned creamy, the kind you stir. They would probably come out different with shelf-stable peanut butter, maybe more dry. The chocolate chip "frosting" is a good idea--it was super-easy and adds a great touch. I used a fancier kind of chips (extra-dark chocolate, these are for a gift) and they taste just fabulous. My husband is already bugging me to make us our own batch! But I'm not going to, because the only down side with these is the total calories. Yikes! Special occasions only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These were more cakelike and dry than I'd hoped, so I think I will try another recipe which calls for less eggs. To be fair, I do think I overcooked these bars though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Very simple to make! I made this last night, cut into small squares and brought it to work for my staff. The entire dish was gone by lunch time & everyone gave rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this while I was procrastinating, which is always when I seem to be baking. Anyway, I followed this recipe exactly (minus the chocolate chips, I didn't have any) and they were delicious! They didn't seem hard to spread at all, I used my electric mixer and the dough turned out nice an fluffy and easy to spread. I could see why they would be stiff without an electric mixer though. Without the choco chips they needed a little more oomf, so I spread nutella on the cut bar. Heaven in a bar! This will satisfy all peanut butter lovers! Thanks for the recipe Missy Anne! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was sooo good. I used reduced fat peanut butter and I sprinkled the chocolate chips on top when it had 5 minutes left to bake and as soon as I took it out I spread it over the top. Me and my friend ate them in 1 day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centertown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
These are good, just not great, but I would make again. They are very, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
My friend wanted my peanut butter bars for her birthday next week, but *gasp!* I lost the recipe! So I gave these ones a shot, and they're close. Moist w/o being greasy (like my old recipe) and they look nice too! I skipped the chocolate chips and they taste just fine to me. My friend will never know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States