Peanut Butter Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
This is a very good recipes it's easy, you have everything in your pantry for it and it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is an excellent recipe with just a few changes. First I halved the recipe except used 2 eggs and 1 cup of white sugar. I used butter instead of shortening and self-rising flour instead of regular. I also upped the cooking time to 25 minutes. These were soooo good that icing was not needed. Try this. You will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was exactly what I was looking for, and these are the same bars that I ate in school. Very tasty, but there was enough frosting for two pans of bars with this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This was sweet and satisfying. I didn't have any choc. chips, coconut, or raisins in the pantry but still came out of the kitchen with something yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
My husband requested "bars like school used to make" so despite to bad reviews I tried this one. It sounded the most like what they made. When you follow the recipe exactly the bar are literally like wet sand! Crumbly is not descriptive enough to say what happens to them. I put them in a container and the container looked like it had brown sugar in it, not bars. It is a good base for a recipe though, here is how to fix it, and not have the recipe be bland (the original has no peanut butter in the actual bar) Use 1 cup brown sugar, AND one cup regular sugar. Add the 1/2 cup peanut butter to the dough after creaming the shortening and sugar. Then add TWO eggs. Just one doesn't do it. Then follow everything else just like it says. With the few changes made these bars are fantastic! Hubby gave the original recipe a 5. (I had added extra sugar and peanut butter but followed everything else.) He gave the modified version a 10! This recipe is a good base, make a few minor changes like I said and it really is spectactular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I did not care for these, however my husband & son thought they were pretty good. Way too greasy & too much Crisco for me. Flavor wasn't bad, but I'd never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Did I miss something in the recipe? My so-called dough was very crumble like and after baking it still seemed crumbley and almost raw. I followed directions correctly. Anyone with any help?? I really wanted these bars to turn out like I had in school. Suggestions please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made these for a pot luck, and they didn't get put out because someone had a peanut allergy. I tried them when I got home and was relieved that no one ate them! Really not good at all. The base is just a tasteless vehicle for the topping. A waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States