Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Raisin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Yum! I love the consistency of these cookies - crispy/crusty on the outside and chewy inside. I used 3 bananas, which sweetened them enough where I can probably reduce the sugar next time. Beware if you increase the bananas, though - the peanut butter flavor won't come through as much. Adding some chopped peanuts might do the trick. Also, I subsituted Splenda for all of the sugar, added the yoke from one of the eggs, and added 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed. Half a cup of raisins was plenty, especially if you plump them first (I covered them with water and microwaved for 30 seconds). These could also use a pinch of salt but were fine without. Overall, these were a terrific, wholesome snack and were perfection with a glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I really like this recipe! It is simple, straightforward, delicious and (somewhat) nutritious. I really love baking with whole wheat flour, and I was delighted to see that this recipe called for it. What a surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FURB

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dennis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
EXCELLENT!!I made some changes though. Read other reviews about dryness I think I solved that. First of all I used 3 very ripe bananas instead of 1 that increases moisture quite a bit. I heaped the peaunt butter I used 2 whole eggs instead of just the whites. Also I used 1 cup of the wheat flour and 1 heaping cup of the white flour. I added 1/2 tsp salt and skipped the raisins. They were cakelike but tons of PB and banana flavor, so good. And the oatmeal made them chewy. Also I cooked them at 350 for about 8-9 minutes but I have a hot oven you just gotta watch them and don't overcook. Thanks for a great recipe Gretchen!!:>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I reviewed this recipe earlier and maybe I was too quick to judge. I had a friend try them in secret because I was thoroughly disappointed by how the cookies turned out. He loved them!! Then I tried another one and decided that I liked them much better by the second tasting. Now I eat one right before my work out and it gives me a nice energy boost!! I will make sure I have these on hand on a regular basis from now on!! I will cut back on the flour though, hopefully they will turn out more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
a real different and great treat everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was really, really good. I only put 1 cup wheat flour and 1 cup white flour, and also put 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 raisins. They turned out wonderfully, and I don't feel guilty eating them :) Thannks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
These are so delicious! My favourite cookie! I use Splenda in place of the white sugar and Brown Sugar Twin in place of the brown sugar. I'm 14 and swim all the time and these give me great energy! Thanx for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Great healthy cookies! Made for my 2-year-old and she loved them! I used rice krispies instead of oats, which gave them a little crunch without being too heavy. Also I only cooked them till just golden - they stayed soft and kept a good banana flavor. Next time I'll add chocolate (for me!). Great treats for baby and mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
These cookies just plain did not taste good. They were too heavy. Maybe if, like the other reviewers, I would have used less wheat flour? I won't be making these again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I made these for my 1 yr. old and he loved them. they're one of those that you don't feel bad to feed them for breakfast when you are in a hurry (as we all are!) Just think banana when you bite into them. The banana flavor is very strong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States