Peanut Butter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
After reading the reviews, I was more generous with the peanut butter and the bananas. (Plus, I used very overripe bananas for stronger flavor). I also added a few good shakes of cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg. Walnuts and mini chocolate chips are also great in these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
These muffins are definitly missing something, they look beautiful though. I think they need a little more sugar, they just don't taste sweet enough. The peanut butter and banana flavor is there, next time I would double or even triple the sugar. Otherwise, it's a very good muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
These muffins had so many mixed reviews...I thought I should just stick with making them close to how the recipe said. I did do as so many others suggested and upped the amount of both the pb and the banana to 3/4 cup. I did think about adding more flour, but no reviews had mentioned that so went ahead and baked the first batch. They turned out kind of flat and mushy, so added about 1/4 cup or less to the rest of the batter and the remaining muffins turned out great. The daycare kids didn't care for the texture the oatmeal gives the muffin, so will probably leave that out and add more flour in the future...maybe ww flour? These were even better the next day. Oh, almost forgot! I lightly drizzled these with a thin chocolate glaze (powdered sugar, cocoa, and milk)instead of making the topping...really added to the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I usually only try 4-5 start recipes, but I saw that the bad ratings this recipe got was for being too heavy and chewy, and not enough sweet, but that was what I was looking for. I made a few changes: instead of brown sugar I used regular sugar, a cup of oatmeal, only one banana (I was worried a little bit about this but because I’m not crazy over bananas I actually felt the taste!) two teaspoons of vanilla and one cup of peanut butter. It came out sweeter then I expected and overall it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
These were so moist and delicious! I really don't see where all the bad reviews are coming from. I'm glad I didn't listen to them and decided to go ahead anyway. I did what another reviewer said and doubled the amount of peanut butter and bananas. Sooo good! The peanut butter taste isn't well pronounced but it adds to the moistness of the muffin. It was almost like cake! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
I thought these muffins were very good - a unique flavour, and very easy to prepare. I've made them more than once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
These are good muffins with a few changes. Since other reviewers said that there wasn't enough peanut butter and banana flavor, I used about 3/4 cup of each instead. They turned out great for me. But since I did make the changes that is the reason I gave them 4 instead of 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
These are really flavorless. You can't taste the banana at all, and only a vague hint of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCIDNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I thought these were good. I used a bit extra peanut butter and used crunchy. Not too sweet, subtle banana flavour, but not bland as some suggest. Certainly not dry. that's an indication that you've left them in the oven too long! Oven times are only a guideline. I added a dried banana on top instead of the topping. (not fond of sugar toppings) I have no idea why so many gave this recipe 1 star....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
not sweet enough like peanut butter and banana can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States