Peanut Butter Banana Flax Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great. I would skip the crumble on top next time because it made them way too messy for my kids. I used 1/2 cup sugar and skipped the dates and walnuts. I also use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I usually steer away from the commercial brand recipes but I gave these a try and they were delicious! Very moist and sweet. For those with less of a sweet tooth you could definitely reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
OMG! The absolutely best muffins I've ever had (and I've been making muffins weekly for over a year now). Don't expect some light and fluffy bakery style muffin. These are dense and velvety. If you don't LOVE peanut butter - don't bother. Oh, I did make the following substitutions: whole wheat instead of APF, brown sugar and only 1/2 cup, and natural peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Love Love Love these!!! Used Splenda instead of sugar and used coconut instead of nuts because I was out of walnuts. Only problem with these is that I'll end up eating the whole batch very very quickly!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I am not usually a fan of brand sponsored recipes, but this one is delicious! It is dense, but that is how I like it! The crumble on top really makes this muffin excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I absolutely LOVED these, perfect for breakfast w/ my Cafe con Leche.......YUUUUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
WOW...we LOVED these muffins! They are hearty and dense with FANTASTIC peanut butter flavour (if you don't like PB, you won't enjoy these!). I used all natural crunchy PB, therefore left out the walnuts (which I likely wouldn't add anyway as my kids wouldn't eat them with walnuts)! I scaled back the sugar to 1/2 cup as others noted and I left out the dates as they really seemed out of place to me. Threw in a small handful of mini chocolate chips and mixed all ingredients together instead of reserving a cup and doing the topping step (was short on time!). A definite repeat, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I love peanut butter and I love banana. It was a brilliant idea to make muffin out of them! I was contemplating what I should make with my two large, almost-ready-to-be-tossed bananas and I'm glad to pick this one. I wanted something other than regular banana bread, and this fits the bill! Because I didn't have enough banana for 1 cup I just halved the recipe (6 muffins) and used more than 1/2 C of banana and about 1T more peanut butter (always use natural), and of course, less sugar. Omitted the dates and I'm sure I didn't miss out a lot. Very delicious muffins (they are dense) and I will for sure make them again. I can't believe it's got no oil or butter! Next time I will try adding oats. **Edit: So I forgot about adding oats, but made them again with cocoa powder. Decreased amount of flour (and used WW instead AP), and added about 1/4C of cocoa (eyeballed, not exact measurement). Also used 3 large bananas with 1t banana extract, and used chunky natural peanut butter, as well as almond milk. Added about 3/4 baking soda, while still leaving out the dates. Had to cook longer than 30 min because there was more liquid "I think".. Anyhow they turned out very yummy! ** Another time I made this with hazelnut butter (all natural) and apple pieces (no nuts/dates) and it was even BETTER than with peanut butter! Expensive, but worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Tried this recipe this week and it was fantastic. The only change I made was substituting chocolate chips for dates and whole wheat flour for all purpose. As one reviewer said, these are not the fluffy, airy cupcake style muffins. Our family does not like those style muffins. These are dense, rich and incredibly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFreicook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These are excellent!! I used almond milk and also added about a 1/4 cup of wheat germ. These are so healthy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States