Peanut Butter Balls VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
these were yucky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
At first, I was looking at the dough and thinking, "YUCK"! But I rolled them up and put them in the fridge. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins. We took them on a hike, and they were a big hit. The whole batch got eaten and they stayed good for several days. I did process the bran cereal in a food processor until fine, which helped with texture. I will definitely make these again, perhaps subbing some of the milk powder with protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe!! Two of my boys are allergic to peanuts, so I substituted chunky almond butter. I kept all of the other ingredients exactly the same. They turned out to be perfect! My kids think they're candy and I love all the wholesome ingredients. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe, simple enough for a 13 year old to make (and I know) and a quick and healthy snack I cut the recipe in half, and since I had no honey, I used about 3/4 cup milk, and about 2 tablespoons sugar to make up for it. I also don't like raisins, and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittygymnast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These are the perfect snack for kids who don't have nut allergies. My mom made them as a kid, and I've been making them for several years. I have always used coconut instead of bran cereal, and rolled them in sesame seeds for some crunch. This time I did half coconut and half Fiber One cereal. I really liked the crunch, although I think next time I'll break the cereal down a little so it spreads through the dough better. I love adding that extra fiber to my son's favorite snack. Also, I like to refrigerate the dough for 1/2 hour before I make the balls so it's not so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe is amazing. It is the same one my grandma used to make us when I was little. We would always eat them like crazy. The recipe is simple. I have been using corn flakes instead of bran cereal and i also do chocolate chips instead of raisins. Everyone loves them and they dissapear instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
perfect snack! my children love these! i had been using a similar recipe, but think that this one is better--it uses less honey making them less sweet and less gooey--and my children like it just as well. with the idea of cereal i used a couple different ones in my cabinet and they all tasted good. grape nuts with chocolate chips and great grains with pecans were especially good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a treat my mom made for my brother and I growing up. I'm so glad to finally find the real recipe! My kids loved them, and I'll be making these often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Really good taste, except for the bran cereal. I think it's better without it. I made this today without the raisins and it was really good, but the bran was hard and poked out. We just didn't like the bran taste in it. Next time, it will just be the peanut butter, milk, and honey. I also dipped in chocolate. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
How cool these are! I've used varying amounts of wheat germ, oats, and / or oat bran, depending on what I've got on hand. Very good. My two year old daughter has a blast "helping" me make these. They're great for take-along snacks, and the adults usually eat more than the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States