Peanut Butter Balls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I've made these for years with slightly different proportions: 2 cups crunchy peanut butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, 2 cups rice krispies and 1 1/2 cups softened margarine. I, too, melt the choc. chips in the microwave with shortening. I went to a Party City and bought a plastic dipping spoon in the candy-making department....and it makes dipping the balls a MUCH easier process! Even when I double the recipe, every morsel goes.....as I place them on pretty plates or in pretty candy dishes and give them as Christmas gifts to very special friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohoes, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I thought these were excellent! I added about 1/4 cup more peanut butter and it was very easy to form balls by pressing the mixture together. Also- Instead of the messy process of dipping the balls, I used mini-muffin papers and covered the bottoms with melted chocolate and then added the peanut butter balls and poured chocolate over the top. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Oh my does this bring back memories! My Grandma Helen used to make these every Christmas and we all looked forward to them. I didn't have her recipe and I was so happy to find this on AR. I made these with my niece and we had a ball - no pun intended! I did made a couple of changes to made it hold together better. I used a whole jar of peanut butter (it's a little over 2 cups anyway), kept the butter the same, and reduced the sugar by 1 cup. I melted the peanut butter and butter in the microwave and then mixed everything. I put the peanut butter balls on cookie sheets lined with wax paper and let them chill for a few hours. I then dipped them in chocolate and red and green sprinkles for Xmas. Take one bite of these crunchy, peanuty, chocolatey little treats and you'll want to make these every year too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Awesome! This is an excellant recipe! We didn't have any rice krispies so we took some kix and crunched them up and used those and they turned out great! Also, we had lots of trouble with the chocolate melting. It would get really grainy. Our solution was to put a little bit of chocolate in at a time over very low heat. It worked perfectly! Don't forget to stick toothpicks in the peanutbutter balls before you freeze them. Makes them much easier to dip;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Very Good recipe. Guests thought the chocolate was a little rich, I think next time I'll try milk chocolate chips. Adding extra peanut butter is a good idea. And I think adding 2 tablespoons of shortening to the chocolate makes it a thinner layer of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANND66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
These are truly wonderful Christmas treats. I make them every year and they disappear in a hurry. Some advice...if you have an old fork you are willing to sacrifice, bend it so that is L shaped. Pour your melted chocolate into a narrow container and dip your pb balls this way. Keep a hot water bath handy if the chocolate starts to thicken. Also, if you tire of dipping in chocolate, another option is to roll in finely chopped pecans or walnuts, or a mixture of cocoa and powdered sugar...or you can just drizzle the chocolate over them in zig zag patern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Great hit for kids and adults. Only used 2 cups sugar and 4-5 cups of rice krispies as I found it too wet to roll properly. I liked the crunchy texture that I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This was delicious. I have never had peanut butter balls before, but they are similar to buckeys, with out the cereal. I found that forming the balls was a little difficult because the mixture kept sticking to my hands. I solved that problem by dipping my fingers in some water. I brought some into work and everyone thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
We used to call these "chestnuts" when I was little, because once they're dark chocolate-covered balls with a circle of peanut butter poking out on top. These are really easy to make and they taste delicious. The peanut-batter batter will be a bit dry at first, but keep stirring until the icing sugar is fully combined. Definitely use toothpicks to dunk the balls in the chocolate - stick a pick in each ball before they are refrigerated. And, you don't need to cover them completely in chocolate - I find that is a bit too rich for most people's taste. Just dip halfway. A scrumptious Christmas treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPSONVH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I was looking for a recipe to satisy my brother in law's craving for peanut butter balls during a Christmas visit - now we all crave them! This recipe makes a ton of balls; we doubled it and were a little sorry we had to form and dip them all (almost 200). A few notes... We ended up mixing the dough in the mixer to incorporate all of the dry ingredients thoroughly. Rolling wasn't really rolling, more like gently squeezing or they crumbled. We dipped some in milk chocolate and some in semi-sweet, then settled on a mix of the two. A great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States