Peanut Butter Balls III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I followed the recommendations given by most of the reviews. 18oz container of Jif Crunchy Peanut Butter, and half of the confectioner's sugar, also I did half milk choc and half semi-sweet. Chilled before rolling and then froze for 2-3 min after adding chocolate. They turned out excellent, added a little red and green sugar to the top to make them festive. Tried this with cream cheese frosting as suggested by one reviewer and it was terrible, skip that alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are WAY too sweet as the recipe is written. I cut the sugar to 2 cups and all I could taste was sugar - I couldn't even taste the peanut butter. I wound up having to melt down another cup of peanut butter and add another few cups of cereal to make them edible. I would never put more than 1 cup of sugar in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
So easy to make but it did take me 3.5 hrs start to finish. I used 1 cup of powdered sugar and that was plenty sweet. I've seen other recipes using graham crackers but I think the rice cereal adds a nice crunch. I used 1 bag semisweet choc chips + 1.5 tbs of shortening to get a smoother and thinner chocolate coating otherwise like others said, it would be too thick. You can use Wilton's melting chocolates too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyThy Huynh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
After reading some reviews, I added a little more peanut butter (a whole jar minus a bit that someone used for a sandwich, lol), and cut the sugar in half. I also added the rice crispies to the pot, thinking I was saving my bowl from messy peanut butter, but since the pot was obviously warm the mixture was harder to make into balls. So don't do that. Also, I was worried it needed to be rolled into balls immediately, but my 11 month old son decided to get into a cupboard and grab an opened box of lasagna noodles and they went EVERYWHERE and then he put one in his mouth!! So panicking I run to him to grab it before he breaks off a piece and also picked up the rest, all while my fingers were covered in peanut butter which I was so afraid I would leave behind somewhere and have him eat for the first time. But crisis averted. I then payed attention to him until nap time. When I went back to making balls it was fine, actually easier after they weren't so warm. Using a bowl of water helped to make them less sticky too. When they were in the fridge for a bit I went back to make them a better round shape, and that is currently where I'm at. I hope the chocolate part will go smoothly.. I've never melted chocolate before and don't have a double boiler. I'm planning on using a stainless steel mixing bowl! I'll also wait until my husband is home so I can do it all at once without stopping. I also used toothpicks which I hope will help with the dipping. It made 50 balls exactly. (Weird!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Super delicious and perfect! Love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I have been making theses for years at christmas time. They pack a punch and they're always a hit! I serve them cold, they taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolategirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I just love Nancy's story so I chose this recipe and it is AWESOME! 4 kids say YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjccphillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macdill Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. These delicious and addicting treats didn't last long at home or with my coworkers. Devoured is the best way to describe how these disappeared. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
OMG these are the BEST EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These peanut butter balls are awesome. Very easy to make and their presentation is amazing. People will think you bought them in a candy store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States